Wasim Jaffer names his Indian XI for the first ODI against Australia; picks three spinners in the team

The first game between India and Australia will be played on 17th January in Mumbai.

The exciting battle between India and Australia now moves to the ODIs. The two teams will lock horns with each other in the three-match series. The first game of the series will be played on 17th March in Mumbai followed by the second and third games to be played on 19th and 22nd March in Visakhapatnam and Chennai respectively.

Wasim Jaffer picks his Indian XI for the first ODI against Australia 

Former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer has picked his Indian XI for the first ODI against Australia. What caught the attention of many was he picked three spinners in the side. For the opening, the Ranji Trophy Legend picked Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill.

Virat Kohli will bat at No.4 in Wasim Jaffer’s Indian XI for the first game against Australia whereas in the absence of Shreyas Iyer, he picked Suryakumar Yadav to bat at No.4. KL Rahul, who has done a staggering job at No.5 for India in ODIs, has retained his place in the team in the middle order.


Hardik Pandya, who will captain India in the first game, is slotted at No.6 by Jaffer. Whereas Ravindra Jadeja and Washington Sunder were the other two all-rounders picked by him in this team. Kuldeep Yadav will be the third spinner alongside the above-mentioned two. He picked just front-line pacers in the team in Mohammed Siraj and Mohammad Shami.

Here’s Wasim Jaffer’s Indian XI for the first ODI against Australia: 

Shubman Gill
Ishan Kishan (WK)
Virat Kohli
Suryakumar Yadav
KL Rahul
Hardik Pandya (C)
Ravindra Jadeja
Washington Sundar
Kuldeep Yadav
Mohammed Siraj
Mohammad Shami 


Indian squad for the three-match ODI series against India 

Here’s the Indian squad for the three-match ODI series against India


Rohit Sharma (c) (2nd and 3rd ODI) Yuzvendra Chahal, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer (injured), Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Jaydev Unadkat, Washington Sundar, Suryakumar Yadav.

Related Articles

Back to top button