IPL Records: 7 Instances Batsman scored 30 or more in an over

IPL has witnessed many high-scoring matches in its 12-year history. The league has seen Chris Gayle score 175* in a T20 innings, while the likes of Brendon McCullum, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, and KL Rahul have also dominated the bowlers in this league.

By scoring 30 or more runs in a single over, a batsman can establish his dominance over the bowler, and in this article, we will glance at those six instances when a batsman took 30 or more runs in a single over.

Rahul Tewatia – 30

Rahul Tewatia has become the talk of the town courtesy of his magnificent performance against Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2020. The left-handed batsman started off slow in his innings for RR, but he batted aggressively when Sheldon Cottrell came in to bowl the 18th over.


Tewatia slammed five sixes to take 30 runs of the over. He missed the fifth ball by a whisker otherwise he could have become the first batsman to hit six sixes in an over in IPL.

Shaun Marsh – 30

Australian star Shaun Marsh was the first batsman to win the Orange Cap award in the IPL. Marsh played for only Kings XI Punjab in the IPL and in an IPL 2011 fixture against RCB, Marsh scored 30 runs off Johan van der Wath’s over. He slammed three sixes and three fours in that over.

Virender Sehwag – 30

Former Delhi opener Virender Sehwag was known for his aggressive approach at the top of the order. Playing against Deccan Chargers in IPL 2008, Sehwag blasted 4, 6, 4, 6, 4, 6 off Andrew Symonds’ bowling and helped his team record a comfortable win against the Chargers.


Chris Gayle – 30

Royal Challengers Bangalore signed Chris Gayle as Dirk Nannes’ replacement and that proved to be a blessing in disguise for the team as Gayle changed RCB’s fortunes. In a game against Pune Warriors, Gayle hit five consecutive sixes off Rahul Sharma’s bowling. Saurabh Tiwary had taken a single on the first ball.

Virat Kohli – 30

Virat Kohli was in the form of his life during the 2016 season. Batting against Gujarat Lions, Kohli scored 30 runs off an over bowled by Shivil Kaushik. He hit four sixes and a four, while on the last ball, Kohli ran two runs.

Suresh Raina – 32

No fan can forget the night when Suresh Raina went berserk playing against Kings XI Punjab in the IPL Playoffs. Raina destroyed the KXIP bowling attack and took 32 runs off Parvinder Awana’s over. He hit two sixes and five fours in the over. One of the fours was hit on a no ball.


Chris Gayle – 36

While no batsman has managed to hit six sixes off an over in the IPL, Chris Gayle once took 36 runs from Prasanth Parmeswaran’s bowling. Gayle hit four sixes and three fours in the over. The second six was hit on a no ball, which resulted in total 37 runs being scored in that over.


Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button