Twitter Reacts As Rohit Sharma Becomes The Full-Time T20I Captain For Team India

After the early exit from the T20 World Cup, the upcoming series against New Zealand is considered the start of the new era for the team in the T20 format. While Rahul Dravid was announced as the new coach, Rohit Sharma has now been appointed as the full-time T20I captain. On Tuesday, the 16-member squad was selected for the tournament. In this article, we see how Twitter reacted after Rohit Sharma becomes the full-time T20I captain, replacing Virat Kohli in the position.

Rohit Sharma becomes the full-time T20I captain of India

Starting on November 17th in Jaipur, the series will involve three T20I games. The Test matches will follow after that. The likes of Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja were rested for the series. A few players such as Hardik Pandya, Varun CV and Rahul Chahar are absent from the squad. Here is a look at the squad that has been selected:

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, and Mohd. Siraj.


Twitter reacts to the team selection

It is Rohit Sharma who will replace Virat Kohli as the captain of the Indian T20 team. Although he was the clear favourite, there were names such as KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant that was doing the rounds. The rumours have now been stopped as BCCI officially announced the decision. At the same time, the squad for the T20I series had some new faces. Venkatesh Iyer and Harshal Patel are the players who could make their debuts. Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj and Shreyas Iyer are the returnees. Hence, Twitter was in a frenzy with the news. On that note, here is a look at a few Twitter reactions to the news:



Nesara V Jagannatha

Books, Movies & Sports! A cricket aficionado...

Related Articles

Back to top button