“He Got The Reward”- Keshav Maharaj Explains Why Avesh Khan Managed To Take 4 Wickets In 4th T20I After Going Wicketless In First 3 Matches

South African cricket team’s left-arm spin bowler Keshav Maharaj recently shared his views on Avesh Khan’s magnificent spell in the fourth T20I of the series. Yesterday, the Indian cricket team hosted the Proteas at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. India won the match quite comfortably, and one of the main heroes of India’s win was Avesh Khan.

Ahead of the fourth T20I match between the Indian cricket team and the South African cricket team, some members of the cricket universe opined that the team management should try Umran Malik in the place of Avesh. The reason behind that was Khan’s disappointing outings in the first three games of the five-match series.

Khan remained wicketless in each of the first three matches of the series between the Indian cricket team and the South African cricket team. The right-arm fast bowler had an economy rate of more than 8.5 runs per over in the first and the third T20Is.


But captain Rishabh Pant and head coach Rahul Dravid backed the fast bowler. The result was that Avesh Khan returned with a four-wicket haul in the fourth T20I against the South African cricket team. He conceded only 18 runs in his four overs at an economy rate of 4.5 runs per over.

Keshav Maharaj praised Avesh Khan after the 4th T20I in Rajkot

Speaking with reporters in the post-match press conference of the fourth T20I, Keshav Maharaj, who was one of the batters dismissed by Khan, said:

“Avesh adapted really well and kept it really simple and got the reward for consistent and controlled bowling.”


Sharing his views on the series decider, Khan added:

“We had a bit of momentum in the first two and India got in the next two. It makes it that much more exciting to go to Bangalore, the crowds have been amazing so far.”



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button