A Strong Playing XI Of Cricketers Who Retired in 2023 So Far

The number of retired cricketers increases every year as all players who start their careers have to call it a day on their careers one day. Even the best players of the world have to hang up their boots. Generally, the cricketers announce retirement around the age of 40, but of late, some cricketers have also called it a day in their early 30s.

Not even 3 months have ended in the year 2023, but many cricketers have announced their retirement from cricket already. In this listicle now, we will form a playing XI of such cricketers who have retired in 2023:

Openers – Murali Vijay and Aaron Finch

The Indo-Australian opening pair of Murali Vijay and Aaron Finch will start the innings for this team. Vijay was once the main opener of Team India in Test cricket, while Finch led Australia to the ICC T20 World Cup title in the year 2021.


Middle Order – Hashim Amla, Theunis de Bruyn, Eoin Morgan (c) and Kamran Akmal (wk)

Former England and Ireland player Eoin Morgan will lead this team. Morgan led England to the ICC World Cup 2019 championship win. Former South African batters Hashim Amla and Theunis de Bruyn will form the corse of the middle-order, while former Pakistan star Kamran Akmal will keep the wickets.

All Rounders of retired cricketers XI – Daniel Christian and Dwaine Pretorius

Daniel Christian retired from all formats of cricket after Big Bash League 2023 ended. He was one of the top T20 all-rounders of the world. South African all-rounder Dwaine Pretorious announced retirement from international cricket at an early age this year. He will focus on T20 leagues going forward.

Bowlers – Joginder Sharma, Sohail Tanvir and William Somerville

Joginder Sharma will lead the pace attack of this team along with former Pakistan pacer Sohail Tanvir. The two players played in the inaugural T20 World Cup Final in 2007. New Zealand spinner William Somerville, who toured India in 2021, completes the playing XI.


Best XI of retired cricketers in 2023

Murali Vijay, Aaron Finch, Hashim Amla, Theunis de Bruyn, Eoin Morgan, Kamran Akmal, Daniel Christian, Dwaine Pretorius, Joginder Sharma, William Somerville, Sohail Tanvir.


Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button