Tim David picked by Cricket Australia for T20 World Cup 2022 without signing central contract, here is the full Australian squad

Tim David has played international cricket for Singapore before, but has not featured for Australia yet

As it was widely speculated, the middle order power hitter Tim David has been included in Australia’s 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. While the Australian selectors were quite impressed with the performances of Tim David in the leagues around the world, the fact that he didn’t have a central contract with Cricket Australia (CA) or the Australian domestic cricket associations was making it difficult for the selectors to pick him.

Tim David was not overly keen to sign a Cricket Australia contract as he wanted to continue plying his trade as a freelance cricketer in the T20 circuit around the world. If he had signed a CA contract, he would have been under the contractual obligation of Cricket Australia from September to April and had to report to the practice facilities whenever required in that period.

However, now the the arrangement that CA and Tim David have reached is that David will play for Australia without signing a central contract, which means he won’t be paid any retainership fees by CA, but he will get the match fees for every match that he plays for the Kangaroos. The flipside of it is that David won’t be under obligation to report to CA at any time of the year.




With the arrival of Tim David, Australia has made one change in the squad that they had picked for the last T20 World Cup. The 14 players from that squad have been able to retain their spots and the only player who has been dropped is the leg spinner Mitchell Swepson, who was the back-up leggie to Adam Zampa in the last T20 World Cup in UAE.

The Australian selectors have decided to go with an extra batsman and have picked David in the squad for Mitchell Swepson, not just for the T20 World Cup 2022, but also for the upcoming 3-match T20I series against India.


Here is Australia’s 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022 –

Aaron Finch (C), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (WK), Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Agar, Tim David, Adam Zampa, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Inglis (WK)


I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.

Related Articles

Back to top button