CricketFeatureIPL 2022

Ranking The 10 IPL Franchises Based On Wicket-keepers

IPL 2022 will start next Saturday at the Wankhede Stadium with a battle between Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings. The 10 IPL franchises formed their squads last month at the mega auction in Bengaluru.

Wicket-keepers were in demand at the IPL 2022 Auction. Before the season starts, in this article now, we will rank the 10 IPL franchises based on their wicket-keepers.

10. Kolkata Knight Riders

Former IPL winners KKR have only two wicket-keeping options – Sam Billings and Sheldon Jackson. Both have not played in the IPL much.


9. Gujarat Titans

Among the 10 IPL franchises, Gujarat Titans were the last to sign a wicket-keeper. They bought Wriddhiman Saha and Matthew Wade from the unsold lot. After the auction, they also signed youngster Rahmanullah Gurbaz. Overall, they have a decent group of wicket-keepers.

8. Sunrisers Hyderabad

SRH spent a whopping 10.75 crore to sign Nicholas Pooran. The other two wicket-keepers in the team are Vishnu Vinod and Glenn Phillips. A lot will depend on Pooran this year.

7. Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB have a blend of youth and experience in their wicket-keepers’ section. They have veteran Dinesh Karthik along with rising stars Anuj Rawat, Luvnith Sisodia and Finn Allen. Karthik’s experience and success took RCB to seventh spot on this list.


6. Punjab Kings

Jonny Bairstow will be the primary wicket-keeper of PBKS. He will have the backing of Prabh Simran Singh and Jitesh Sharma. Bairstow’s match-winning skills make him likely to play all games.

5. Mumbai Indians

Very few teams have an experienced Indian option in IPL 2022 as far as the wicket-keeping department is concerned. In Ishan Kishan, MI have a solid wicket-keeper. His backup is Aryan Juyal.

4. Rajasthan Royals

RR have an experienced Indian and an experienced overseas wicket-keeper. With Sanju Samson and Jos Buttler in the squad, RR are unlikely to face any issues in the wicket-keeping section.


3. Lucknow Super Giants

Like RR, LSG have an Indian and an overseas wicket-keeping star. KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock are among the top wicket-keeper batters globally right now.

2. Delhi Capitals

With two top-quality Indian keepers namely Rishabh Pant and KS Bharat in the team, DC have one of the best wicket-keeping units among the 10 IPL franchises. DC also New Zealand’s Tim Seifert.

1. Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni, Robin Uthappa and Ambati Rayudu make a solid Indian trio of wicket-keepers. Devon Conway and Narayan Jagadeesan provide a lot of depth to CSK’s wicket-keepers’ department.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button