CricketFeatureIPLIPL 2021

One player each of the current teams should not have released in IPL history

IPL has been one of the most successful tournaments in cricket history. Started in 2008, the league has already become one of the most valuable sports brands. IPL has eight franchises right now. In the first season also, there were eight teams. However, in 2011, BCCI included two new teams.

The board has the same plans for the upcoming season. Two new teams will join the league. At that time, the current teams will have to make some big decisions before the mega-auction. The upcoming auction is not the first time in IPL history that the fans will witness a mega auction. Over the years, teams have released big names from their squads before the auctions. In this listicle, we will look at the one player each of the current franchises should not have released in IPL history.

1. One of the biggest blunders in IPL history: Delhi Capitals released AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers is one of the best batsmen in IPL history. He has earned the tag of Mr. 360 because of his fantastic batting performances. Right now, he is a part of RCB. RCB has not left him after signing him in 2011. Before that, he was a part of the Delhi Daredevils team.

For Delhi, de Villiers scored 671 runs in 26 innings at a strike rate of 117. Delhi released him before IPL 2011. RCB signed him at the subsequent auction. So far, de Villiers has played 136 innings for RCB, scoring 4,385 runs. His strike rate for his second franchise has been 159.69.

2. Kolkata Knight Riders – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle is the Universe Boss of T20 cricket. The left-handed batsman has dominated the shortest format of the game. Surprisingly, he went unsold in IPL Auction 2011. Before that, Gayle played for KKR. In 16 innings for Kolkata, Gayle scored 463 runs at a strike rate of 141.59.


His numbers were decent. Still, KKR released him. RCB picked him up as Dirk Nannes’ replacement, and the rest is history. Gayle played seven seasons for RCB, amassing 3,163 runs at a strike rate of 152.73. The Jamaican player smashed 19 fifties and five centuries, proving that KKR made a big mistake by releasing him.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore – KL Rahul

KL Rahul won the Orange Cap in 2020. He is the captain of the Punjab Kings right now. Also, the right-handed batsman is present in the Top 20 of the all-time highest run-scorers in IPL history. Many fans would know Punjab is not the first team to sign Rahul. He has played for SRH and RCB before.

While SRH traded him because they had enough batting options, RCB surprisingly released him before IPL Auction 2018. Rahul had played 19 matches for his home franchise. He scored 417 runs at a strike rate of 145.30. The fans of the RCB franchise were happy with his performance. Still, Bangalore did not retain him.


4. Mumbai Indians – Yuzvendra Chahal

It may surprise a few fans. However, the truth is both Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have been a part of the Mumbai Indians team in IPL. They were young and inexperienced then. Unfortunately, they did not get enough opportunities at MI. Chahal got only one game in IPL 2013 against KKR.

Chahal returned to the auction pool in 2014. The Royal Challengers Bangalore signed him there, and he is now among the top ten wicket-takers in IPL history, with 125 wickets to his name in 105 innings. Had MI retained him, he could have been a long-term player for them. However, it is unlikely that RCB will release him.

5. One of the most surprising decisions in IPL history: Rajasthan Royals released Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja is one of the best all-rounders in world cricket right now. He can bat, bowl, and field well. Because of his fantastic performances, many fans consider him the real 3D player. Jadeja won the first season of IPL with RR. At that time, Shane Warne called him the team’s rockstar.

Jadeja played 27 games for the Royals. In those matches, he scored 430 runs, and with his left-arm spin, he took six wickets for the Jaipur-based franchise. Before IPL 2011, RR released him, and then Jadeja played for Kochi. Jadeja joined the Chennai Super Kings after KTK’s exit.

6. Chennai Super Kings – Chris Morris

Chennai Super Kings were the first to sign Chris Morris in IPL. The South African all-rounder had done well in CLT20. His performances earned him a contract from CSK. During his brief stint with Chennai, Morris played 16 matches. He did not get enough chances to bat.


However, in the bowling unit, he took 14 wickets at an economy rate of 8.02. Morris is an exceptional talent. Still, CSK surprisingly released him before IPL 2014. Currently, Morris is one of the top all-rounders in the world. He became the most expensive player in IPL Auction history earlier this year.

7. Sunrisers Hyderabad – Mohammed Siraj

Mohammed Siraj is one of the most improved bowlers right now. RCB has backed him a lot. But not many would know that Siraj made his IPL debut for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Siraj played six games for SRH in IPL 2017. His performance was excellent as he took ten wickets.

Still, Hyderabad released him before the 2018 mega auction. Right now, he has become one of the top bowlers in India. He has played an integral role in RCB’s success in IPL 2021. Also, he is an essential member of the Indian Test team.


8. One of the most surprising decisions in IPL history: Punjab Kings released Sam Curran

Sam Curran is a promising all-rounder. He is still very young, but many rate him as one of the best overseas players in IPL right now. Chennai Super Kings signed Curran in 2020. Before that year, he played for Punjab in IPL. The Englishman performed brilliantly for Punjab.

He scored 95 runs at a strike rate of more than 170. On top of that, the left-arm fast bowler took a hat-trick with the ball. Still, Punjab released him before a mini-auction. CSK has signed him now, and it is improbable that they will release him. Curran has scored 238 runs and picked up 22 wickets in 21 games for Chennai.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button