5 Indian players to win WT20, CLT20, and IPL

T20s have evolved into the most entertaining and competitive formats in world cricket with the arrival of various franchise-based T20 leagues in the last decade. Some of these most competitive tournaments in this format include the ICC T20 World Cup, the Indian Premier League, and the Champions League T20. Winning even a single one of them is a dream come true for any cricketer. However, there have been a few players who have won all three of these competitive T20 tournaments. Five of these small bunch of players are Indians. So, Let’s look at who are these five Indian players to win WT20, CLT20, and IPL.

Who are the five Indian players to win WT20, CLT20, and IPL?

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won all the major cricketing tournaments in cricket, including ICC World Twenty 20, Indian Premier League, and Champions League T20. Dhoni has not just won each of these titles once but has led his side Chennai Super Kings to three IPL titles and two Champions League T20 titles. 

MS Dhoni won consecutive IPL titles with CSK in 2010 and 2011. And then he won it one more time in 2018. Dhoni won two CLT20 titles with CSK. He won his first in 2010 and his second in 2014. And who can forget India’s inaugural ICC World T20 title win under him in 2007, which marked the beginning of this legend’s leadership run.


2. Joginder Sharma:

Joginder Sharma was the hero of India’s victory against Pakistan in the final of World Twenty20 2007. He played a vital role in India lifting that trophy. Joginder Sharma was also a part of Chennai Super Kings’s IPL and CPLT20 winning squad in 2010. So by the end of 2010, he had won a T20 World Cup, an IPL title, and a Champions League T20 title.

3. Harbhajan Singh:

Harbhajan Singh was a part of India’s ICC World T20 2007 winning squad like every other name on this list. So he had a World Cup win under his belt by 2007. Bhajji won his first Champions League T20 title in 2011 with Mumbai Indians. He was not just a part of the Mumbai Indians camp in their CLT20 2011 title win, but he was the one to lead them to the title. Bhajji won one more Champions League T20 title with Mumbai Indians in 2013 under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

 Harbhajan won his first IPL title in 2013 when Mumbai Indians registered their first-ever IPL title triumph. He won two more IPL titles with MI in 2015 and 2017. Harbhajan was bought by Chennai Super Kings at the IPL auction in 2018, ending his successful time at Mumbai Indians. However, his title run didn’t end there as he won one more IPL title in 2018, but this time with Chennai Super Kings. So, Harbhajan Singh has won a T20 World Cup, two Champions League T20 titles, and four IPL titles in his cricketing career.


4. Rohit Sharma:

Rohit Sharma was a young member of India’s squad when they won the first-ever ICC World Twenty20 title in 2007. After that, it has been one title after the other in T20 leagues for Rohit Sharma. Rohit won his first Champions League T20 title as the captain of Mumbai Indians in 2013. 

Rohit Sharma is the only player to have won six IPL titles in its 13 years of history. He won his first IPL title playing for Deccan Chargers under Adam Gilchrist in 2009. In 2011 his services were acquired by Mumbai Indians. Rohit took on the captainship role for Mumbai Indians mid-season in 2013 as Ricky Ponting pulled out of the squad due to a lack of form. And that was the beginning of Mumbai Indians’ domination in franchise cricket, which continues even today. Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to five IPL titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020, making them the most successful team in the history of IPL.

5. Dinesh Karthik:

Dinesh Karthik began his T20 title journey with India as well. Like others on this list, he was also a part of India’s inaugural ICC World T20 title-winning squad in 2007. Apart from this, Karthik has won one Champions League T20 title and one IPL title. He won both of these titles while playing for Mumbai Indians when they won both IPL and CLT20 in 2013 under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. So Dinesh Karthik is the fifth and the last player on this list to have won a T20 World Cup, an IPL, and a CLT20 title.


Related Articles

Back to top button