CricketFeatureIPLIPL 2022

IPL 2022: Full Squad and probable XI for Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad who had a disastrous season in IPL 2021 as they finished last with just 3 wins from 14 games, released most of their key players and started with an almost clean slate. SRH didn’t retain David Warner, Rashid Khan, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar who have been their key performers over the years. Sunrisers Hyderabad retained their skipper Kane Williamson for 14 CR and two uncapped Indians in Abdul Samad and Umran Malik for 4 CR each. They entered the IPL auction with a purse of 68 CR which was the second-highest among all the ten teams.

Despite having a huge purse, SRH was quiet in the whole marquee set and didn’t make a single bid for any player. They went hard for the young all-rounder Washington Sundar and got him for 8.75 CR. They were saving money for Ishan Kishan and raised the paddle till 15 CR but Mumbai Indians won that bidding war at 15.25 CR. As a result, SRH had to buy a different keeper batter and they bought Nicholas Pooran for a whopping 10.75 CR, despite having below-average returns in the last IPL. They bought four of their old players back – Bhuvneshwar Kumar for 4.2 CR, Priyam Garg for 20 Lakhs, T Natarajan for 4 CR, and Abhishek Sharma for 6.75 CR. Apart from that, they managed to buy Rahul Tripathi for a price of 8.5 CR and Kartik Tyagi for 4 CR who has a lot of potential. Towards the end of the day, they bought two spinners – Shreyas Gopal for 75 Lakhs and Jagdeesha Suchith for his base price of 20 Lakhs.

On Day 2, they made the first buy of the day as they bought the underrated Aiden Markram for 2.6 CR who should make their probable XI. For some reason, Sunrisers Hyderabad bought three overseas players who could perform the same role of a seam-bowling all-rounder. Marco Jansen the young sensation of South Africa was bought for 4.2 CR. Romario Shepherd was bought for 7.75 CR and Sean Abbot who has done well in the BBL was bought for 2.4 CR. All these three players effectively play the same role in a T20 team. They bought a few uncapped Indians as backups and then towards the end of the Auction bought Glenn Phillips the Kiwi batsman who can bowl off-spin for 1.5 CR. SRH has managed to buy Fazalhaq Farooqi, the left-arm pacer from Afghanistan for 50 Lakhs who could turn out to be a match-winner in the coming years.


SRH’s Final Squad: Kane Williamson*, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Nicholas Pooran*, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, Jagdeesha Suchith, Aiden Markram*, Marco Jansen*, Romario Shepherd*, Sean Abbot*, R Samarth, Shashank Singh, Saurabh Dubey, Vishnu Vinod, Glenn Phillips*, Fazalhaq Farooqi*

Total Squad Size: 23 – 15 Indians and 8 Overseas

Purse Remaining: 0.1 CR


Probable Playing XI: Kane Williamson (C)*, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram*, Rahul Tripathi, Nicholas Pooran (WK)*, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, Romario Shepherd* / Marco Jansen*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik / Kartik Tyagi

Shubham K

I am currently studying Computer Engineering at SVNIT Surat. I am a big cricket fan and like writing about Cricket.

Related Articles

Back to top button