6 famous players who wore Jersey No.10 in International Cricket

Jerseys have become a significant part of cricket since their debut. Wearing the colors of their national team is a dream for every young aspiring cricketer. The kit numbers printed on a cricketer’s shirt may not carry much significance at the beginning of their careers, but they leave behind a legacy and lots of memories at the end of a successful career. Jersey number 10 is one such jersey number that has been worn not just by one but six famous cricketers. So without further delay, let’s look at the six players to wear jersey no.10 in International Cricket.

Six players to wear jersey no.10 in International Cricket:

1. Sachin Tendulkar:

Jersey number 10 carries the legacy of this legendary cricketer, who is said to be the greatest batter of all time. Sachin Tendulkar is the highest run-scorer in International Cricket to date, including both tests and ODI. He scored 34357 international runs in his career and is the only batter in the World to hit 100 international centuries. No other batter even nears this record, with the second-most being 71 of Virat Kohli


Sachin Tendulkar created all these records while wearing jersey number 10 on his back. He also used jersey numbers like 33 and 9, but the Jersey number 10 played a significant role in his 24-year-long career and turned it into a memory stamped in a billion Indian hearts. Sachin gave this number such significance that BCCI unofficially retired jersey number 10 in Indian Cricket as players refused to wear it out of respect for the Indian legend.

2. Shahid Afridi:

Shahid Afridi also wore jersey number 10 for the entirety of his international career. The Pakistani legend was one of the best all-rounders of his time. Afridi played 27 tests, 398 ODIs, and 99 T20Is for Pakistan donning jersey no.10 for more than 21 years.

During this period, Afridi scored 11,196 international runs and picked 541 international wickets to leave his own legacy with this jersey number. Shahid Afridi retired from all formats of Internation Cricket in 2017. Since his retirement, no other Pakistani player has chosen jersey no.10 yet.


3. Peter Siddle:

Peter Siddle is one of the well-known bowlers to represent Australia in International Cricket. He played 67 Tests, 20 ODIs, and two T20Is for Australia in his 11-long career. Siddle also donned jersey number ten for the entirety of his career. During this time, he took 221 test wickets, 17 ODI wickets, and three T20 wickets. Siddle wore number 10 from 2008 to 2019 before he retired from International Cricket in 2019. 

4. David Miller:

David Miller is still a big name in International Cricket. He has represented his nation, South Africa, in 134 One-Day Internationals and 81 T20 Internationals. Miller has donned a number 10 jersey in all of these matches and continues to wear it while playing for South Africa. Not just that, David Miller has also donned the jersey number 10 for both of his IPL franchises. He wore the number 10 for Kings XI Punjab from 2013 to 2019. Miller currently plays for Rajasthan Royals in IPL and continues to wear the Jersey no.10 for them as well.

5. Allan Donald:

Also known as the White lightning, South Africa’s legendary pacer Allan Donald has also sported a number 10 jersey in International Cricket. Donald was the first South African bowler to take 300 test wickets. He still is the fourth-highest wicket-taker for South Africa in tests after Steyn, Pollock, and Ntini. Allan Donald played 72 tests and 164 ODIs for South Africa in a career spanning more than 12 years. David Miller is the only other South African player to sport a number 10 jersey after him. 


6. Shardul Thakur:

Shardul Thakur is the only Indian cricketer to wear the jersey number 10 for India after Sachin Tendulkar. He wore the number 10 kit for the first time on his ODI debut against Sri Lanka in 2017. However, Shardul got trolled on social media for this as the fans asked BCCI to retire the number in honor of the great Sachin Tendulkar. He then clarified that it wasn’t intentional as the number 10 was the addition of his Birthdate digits. Shardul later changed his kit number to 54, and the BCCI unofficially retired the jersey number 10 in Indian Cricket later in 2017. 

Related Articles

Back to top button