5 Players Who Made Their International Debut Under MS Dhoni And Then Became Indian Captain

The Indian cricket team has been home to some of the greatest talents in cricket history. The Men in Blue achieved the most success in ICC tournaments while playing under the captaincy of the legendary MS Dhoni. Playing under his leadership, the Indian cricket team won the ICC T20 World Cup 2007, ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

Dhoni groomed many players under him. Five players who made their debut under Dhoni went on to captain the Indian cricket team as well. Here’s a list of those four names:

1. Virat Kohli made his debut under MS Dhoni

Former Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli made his debut for India in an ODI match against the Sri Lankan cricket team back in 2008. Kohli went on to succeed Dhoni as the all-format captain of Team India.


2. Rohit Sharma made his debut under MS Dhoni

Current Indian cricket team skipper Rohit Sharma made his first appearance for India in ICC T20 World Cup 2007 under Dhoni. Currently, he is the all-format captain.

3. Hardik Pandya made his debut under MS Dhoni

New captain of India for Ireland T20Is Hardik Pandya started his career under Dhoni against Australia in 2016. Pandya will make his captaincy debut next week.

4. Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane made his first appearance for the Men in Blue in an ODI against England in 2011 under Dhoni. Rahane has an excellent record as Indian captain in Tests. He has also led the Indian team in the T20I format.


5. Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan also started his international career with an appearance in an ODI game. His first international match was against the Australian cricket team in 2010 under the leadership of Dhoni.

Last year, when the BCCI sent a second-string team to play against the Sri Lankan cricket team, Dhawan was elected as the captain of the squad.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button