3 Teams With Most Title Wins In Women’s World Cup History

Australian women create history at Hagley Oval

Women’s World Cup: History was penned at Hagley Oval as Australia ran riot over England, chronicling a remarkable win by 71 runs. Alyssa Healey peppered the English bowlers all over the park as she amassed 170 runs from 38 balls that starred a staggering 26 fours while Rachel Haynes played the perfect partner as he blasted home a 93-ball-68.

If the opening partnership wasn’t enough for the Australian women to be confident of a win, Beth Mooney manifested her most intimidating incarnation as he whacked a searing 62 from just 47 balls, pushing the needle into Australia’s scoring rate. Despite a late slide into a tailspin, the damage was already done by the top three and England had a momentous 357 to chase down.

A seasoned Anya Shrubsole was the solitary beacon of hope amongst a bevy of battered English bowlers as she claimed three crucial wickets at the expense of just 46 runs. Sophie Ecclestone did manage to bag the important scalp of Haynes but she took a whacking of 71 runs.


The English chase was jolted to a rude awakening as Megan Schutt and Alana King dealt a double whammy to the staggering aspirations of England. Despite Nat Sciver playing the knock of her life, the mountain was too vertiginous to climb for England, especially with minimal support from the batters at the other end. Amy Jones, Sophia Dunkley and Charlie Dean tried to stitch together a decent shard of resistance at the other end but the Australian bowlers were simply relentless in their pursuit.

Alana King and Jess Jonassen plundered six wickets between them while Megan Schutt chimed in with a couple that sparked England’s decline and despite a rambunctious effort from Sciver, there was very little that the English batters could conjure to stave away the Australian tempest.

This, however, wasn’t Australia’s first rodeo with the crowning moment in the antiquity of women’s cricket. They have been a force to reckon with in the World Cup. This was their seventh triumph in the history of the most prestigious contest in the world. In this story, let us quickly take a glance at the three teams with the highest number of Women’s World Cups in their cabinet.


Australia – 7 times

The reigning champions of the world racked up the hallowed trophy for a staggering 7th time. They previously lifted the cup in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, 2013 and 2022. They have played 84 matches so far in the tournament, out of which it has been landslide domination as they have secured 70 wins with 11 defeats. With a win percentage of 85.47, they have dictated the proceedings handsomely and continue to be the most damning force in the history of women’s cricket.

England – 4 times

The 2022 finalists are another imperative force in the antiquity of the women’s World Cup with 4 silverwares to their name. They were the champions of the world in 1973, 1993, 2009 and 2017. They have played the second-highest number of matches in the tournament with 83 outings to their name. They have secured 57 wins, imparting them a percentage of 75.04. Their latest triumph came at the expense of India where they turned the tide around from the very jaws of defeat with the Indian women crumbling under the cosh.

New Zealand – 1 time

The Blackcaps have been a significant force in the fabric of women’s cricket but their exploits in terms of silverware have been minimal as they have emerged as the champions of the tournament just once that came a couple of decades ago in 2000. It was the golden era of New Zealand Women’s cricket that saw Emily Drumm leading the lines for them. In a Trans-Tasmanian final, Katrina Keenan and Rachel Pullar conjured a magical outing as they secured the trophy in a sternum-churning thriller, penning a victory by 4 runs, that would go on to shatter the dominant Australian hearts.




A sports lover with a passion for words.

Related Articles

Back to top button