2 Surprise inclusion in Australia’s squad for WTC Final against India

The WTC Final will be played between Australia and India from 7th June in England.

WTC Final: The excitement for the ICC World Test Championship 2023 is building up. Things are getting intense as we approach the summit clash of the championship. The final is set to take place from June 7 to 11 at the Oval with a reserve day in place (12 June). Australia and India will clash with each other in the big match and it’s fair to say that game will keep every cricket lover on their toes.

2 Surprise inclusion in Australia’s squad for WTC Finals against India

Australia has announced their squad for the WTC Final. The Pat Cummins-led side has name 17-member strong lineup. Some familiar players were there but a few surprised many. Let’s take a look at 2 Surprise inclusion in Australia’s squad for WTC Finals against India:

Marcus Harris 

One of the surprises in Australia’s squad for the WTC Finals against India was Marcus Harris. The southpaw has been on the sidelines for a while and made cut into the squad, when no one expected him to. He had a decent domestic season and it’s evident that he has been named into the squad on the back of his performance. He scored 601 runs in the Shield season for Victoria along with two hundreds. However, with David Warner in the team, it remains to be seen if he can find a place in the XI or not.


Todd Murphy 

Todd Murphy is another surprise selection in Australia’s squad for WTC Finals against India. The reason behind that is English conditions, which aren’t suited for spinners. The Australian team usually opts for a combination of 4 pacers and 1 spinner in the team there’s a no-brainer that Nathan Lyon will be the slow bowler. Murphy was the find of Australia during their tour to India. He performed extremely well and troubled Indian batters a lot. But due to the English conditions and presence of Nathan Lyon, it was expected that he won’t be there.

ICC WTC Final: Australia squad for the World Test Championship Final 

Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner


Related Articles

Back to top button