CricketIPL 2022News

“Why Suresh Raina Called As Mr. IPL”- A Twitter User Shared A Fantastic Thread Of Chinna Thala’s Records

The 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League is currently underway, but Mr. IPL Suresh Raina is working as a commentator for this season. Raina registered himself for the IPL 2022 Mega Auction at a base price of INR 2 crore. However, he went unsold.

Fans felt that the disappointing batting performance in IPL 2021 and lack of domestic cricket practice led to Mr. IPL Suresh Raina missing the 2022 season. However, one cannot deny the fact that Raina dominated the league when he played regularly.

A Twitter user shared a long thread of unique records that Suresh Raina holds to his name, and why he is the Mr. IPL. Here are some of the top records that he shared:


“Suresh Raina has set such high standards for himself that once when he scored 376 Runs in 2015, it was the 1st time he didn’t cross the 400 Run Barrier in 8 IPL seasons.”

The next record stated that Raina finished with more than 350 runs in 11 seasons and more than 400 runs in 9 seasons of the IPL. Only once he finish with less than 350 runs, which was the 2021 season.

Stats in playoffs and final prove why Suresh Raina is the Mr. IPL

The Twitter user further mentioned how Suresh had to bat in different situations during IPL 2021 before being dropped from the playing XI.


“Talking about 2021, he didn’t bat against KKR (1st Phase), only twice he batted at 3, four times at 4 and five times at 5 before being dropped whereas he batted at 3 all his life in the IPL.”

He has the most runs (249) in IPL Finals, most runs (714) in IPL Playoffs, and 8th most Man of the Match awards (14). Despite missing IPL 2020 and 2022, Raina still holds a place in the Top 5 of the all-time run-scorers in IPL history. He also owns the record for the most consecutive matches for a team (158 for CSK). You can see the full thread here:






Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button