CricketIPL 2021News

Who Is Today IPL Opening Batsman For The Match Between KKR And DC?

The 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League has returned to the Sharjah Cricket Stadium now for a blockbuster match between the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and the Delhi Capitals (DC) . It is the 41st match of IPL 2021, and most fans have one question in their minds, that is – Who will be the opening batters in the game between KKR and DC right now.

The captains of the two teams are Rishabh Pant and Eoin Morgan. Many fans would know that both Pant and Morgan bat in the middle-order. They are unlikely to open the innings for their respective teams. The Kolkata Knight Riders suffered a defeat in their previous match against the Chennai Super Kings. But they should stick with their opening combination. Meanwhile, the Delhi Capitals are on a 2-match winning streak in the UAE leg of the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League.

KKR opening Batsman today

So, the Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and elected to field first. As mentioned ahead, the Kolkata-based franchise are unlikely to change their opening combination. The right hand-left hand duo of Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill will most probably continue to open the innings for the team.


Gill has been a fantastic batter for the Kolkata Knight Riders, while Iyer made his debut against the Royal Challengers Bangalore earlier this month. Looking at his confidence, it does not seem like he is making his IPL debut this year. KKR’s openers will probably be Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill.

DC opening batsman today

The Delhi Capitals do not have the services of Prithvi Shaw available for this match. Thus, they have brought Steve Smith into the team. Since Smith opened the innings for his previous team Rajasthan Royals, it should not be a surprise if he comes out to open with Shikhar Dhawan today. DC’s openers will probably be Shikhar Dhawan and Steve Smith.

Delhi Capitals Playing 11: Shikhar Dhawan, Steve Smith, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (C), Shimron Hetmyer, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Avesh Khan


Kolkata Knight Riders Playing 11: Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (C), Dinesh Karthik, Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Sandeep Warrier, Varun Chakravarthy, Lockie Ferguson


Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button