CricketIPL 2022News

“Where Have We Seen This Before?”- Gujarat Titans List 4 Coincidences Between IPL 2022 And CWC 2011 Final

The Gujarat Titans made history by becoming the first team to defeat the Rajasthan Royals in an IPL Final and win the trophy. GT made its IPL debut in 2022. Even though their squad looked weaker on paper after the auction ended, the Titans used their resources to perfection and won the IPL 2022 trophy.

Speaking of the IPL 2022 Final, Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to bat first. The RR batters could not get going in the biggest match of the tournament and finished with only 130 runs in their 20 overs. Chasing 131 to win their maiden IPL trophy, the Gujarat Titans won the game by seven wickets, riding on fantastic knocks from Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya.

In a chat with Harsha Bhogle at the post-match presentation, Man of the Match Hardik Pandya said:


“The kind of support the whole support staff has shown the players has been fantastic This is the right example for the world that if you can get the right players and build a team of good people around you can win. Ashu Pa and I are similar in the sense we like to play proper bowlers.”

Gujarat Titans pointed out similarities between IPL 2022 Final and CWC 2011 Final

After the match ended, GT posted a special tweet to show the coincidences between the IPL 2022 Final and the 2011 Cricket World Cup Final. In that match, India defeated Sri Lanka to win the World Cup after 28 years.

Speaking about the similarities between the two matches, the player with number seven – MS Dhoni and Shubman Gill – finished things off in style with a six. Gary Kirsten and Ashish Nehra were in the Indian dressing room and the Gujarat Titans dugout celebrating the win. Also, the opposition camp had both Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga. Here is the tweet that the Gujarat Titans posted.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button