UAE T20 league: Dubai Capitals (sister franchise of Delhi Capitals) full squad and players list

Unlike some other franchises, Dubai Capitals have not signed a lot of star players for the first edition of UAE t20 league

Dubai Capitals, the sister franchise of Delhi Capitals, have announced the names of their direct overseas signings for the first edition of UAE T20 league. Unlike some other franchises, the Capitals have not gone for a lot of big names and have rather focused on signing utility players from the smaller cricketing nations.

The country from where Dubai Capitals have signed the most number of players is Sri Lanka. As many as five Sri Lankan international cricketers will feature for the Capitals in the first edition of UAE T20 league. The names include the current Sri Lankan white ball captain Dasun Shanaka, the top order left hander Bhanuka Rajapaksa, the wicketkeeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella and a couple of seamers, Dushmantha Chameera and Isuru Udana.



The Capitals have also made a couple of signings from Zimbabwe and Afghanistan each and they have gone for the in-form players. Sikandar Raza has scored a lot of runs for Zimbabwe in international cricket recently and he has been signed alongwith Blessing Muzarabani who has the experience of playing in Pakistan Super League (PSL).

From Afghanistan, the Capitals have signed the hard hitting opening batsman Hazratullah Zazai and the mystery spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman who has also been a part of Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad squad in the past IPL seasons.

Dan Lawrence is the only England player who has found a place in the Capitals squad, while Fred Klaassen and George Munsey are the players from the associate nations who have earned themselves a Capitals contract. The two Caribbean T20 stars that the Capitals have signed are the West Indies white ball vice-captain Rovman Powell and the left arm spinner Fabian Allen who is also a handy batsman down the order.


Here are the 14 overseas players that Dubai Capitals have signed for the first edition of UAE T20 league –

Dasun Shanaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Isuru Udana, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera (all Sri Lanka), Sikandar Raza, Blessing Muzarabani (all Zimbabwe), Rovman Powell, Fabian Allen (all West Indies), Hazratullah Zazai, Mujeeb ur Rahman (all Afghanistan), Dan Lawrence (England), George Munsey (Scotland), Fred Klaassen (Netherlands)


I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.

Related Articles

Back to top button