Top 4 Goal Scorers in the ISL History

India is a cricket-dominated nation. The prevalence of football matters only to a handful. Indian Super League is the country’s top-flight football league. Starting in 2014, the league has had tremendous fan support over the past seven seasons. In this article, we take a look at the top goalscorers in ISL History.

1. Ferran Corominas (Coro)

Ferran Corominas is one of the most prolific players in the history of the Indian Super League. He is the top goal scorer in ISL history with 48 league goals in 57 appearances. The Spaniard played for FC Goa during his three seasons in India. Coro was Sergio Lobera’s go-to man for attacking returns. Twice has he won the prestigious Golden Boot (most goals scored at the end of the Season)

He opened his ISL account in the 2017-18 season against Chennaiyin FC. The FC Goa forward holds the record of netting the fastest hat-trick in ISL history. The hat-trick came within 7 (47’-54’) minutes against Kerala Blasters in the 2017-18 season. He netted his last goal against Jamshedpur FC in a 5-0 win, before moving to Atletico Baleares.


2. Sunil Chhetri

Sunil Chhetri is the only Indian on our list of top goalscorers in ISL history. The Indian striker has represented two clubs in his tenure; Mumbai City FC and Bengaluru FC scoring 47 goals. He made his ISL debut for Mumbai City FC back in the 2015 season. He was bought for 1.2 Cr at the auction. His debut ISL goal(s) came against Delhi Dynamos (now Odisha FC). 

The 37-year-old scripted history by becoming the first Indian player to score a hat-trick after netting thrice against NorthEast United in a 5-1 win. He ended the season with seven goals. Sunil is the top scorer for Bengaluru FC in ISL history, scoring 40 goals. Sunil scored on his BFC debut in the ISL against his former side Mumbai City in the 2017/18 season. He finished the season with 14 goals.

Sunil registered his first hat-trick for Bengaluru in a 3-0 win in the semi-finals against FC Pune City. He also scored in the final against Chennaiyin FC, but it ended in a losing cause. In 2018/19, Chhetri scored nine goals, including one in the semi-final against NorthEast United. BFC clinched their first ISL trophy under his captaincy that year. 


In the 2019/20 season, the Indian-forward scored nine goals. It included a brace against FC Goa in a 2-1 win. His worst year in terms of goals scored was the 2020/21 season. Only eight times did Sunil find the back of the net. Bengaluru failed to qualify for the ISL playoffs, finishing 7th on the table.

3. Bart Ogbeche

Bartholomew Ogbeche has played for three teams in the ISL before joining Hyderabad FC for the 2021/22 season. The Nigerian striker played his first year in the ISL (2018-19) for the Highlanders, scoring 12 goals. He scored on his ISL debut in a 2-2 draw against FC Goa. His first hat-trick came against Chennaiyin FC in a 4-3 comeback win. He is the highest goal-scorer in the history of North East United, with 12 goals.

Ogbeche joined Kerala Blasters ahead of the 2019-20 season. He netted twice on his Kerala Blasters debut against ATK (now ATKMB). He has scored four braces and one hat-trick during his stint with Kerala Blasters. In 16 games in the group stage, the Nigerian scored 15 goals. He is the highest goal scorer in Kerala Blasters history as well. He holds a unique record of being the highest-goals-corer for two different clubs, despite playing just one season with each club.


Ahead of the 2020/21 season, Ogbeche completed a loan move to Mumbai City FC. Ogbeche’s playing time was cut short, with the presence of star-striker Adam Le Fondre. Although, he scored some crucial goals and lived up to his name. In 23 appearances, Bart scored eight goals. His goal against ATKMB helped Mumbai City clinch the League-Winners shield.

Ogbeche won the double with Mumbai City before switching to Hyderabad FC for the 2021/22 season.

4. Marcelinho

Marcelinho is one of the most versatile players to ever play in the Indian Super League. The Brazilian could play in any attacking position- LW, RW, CAM, CF, or SS. He has played for several clubs in his ISL career. With 33 goals, he is fourth in the list of top goalscorers in ISL history. 


His ISL Debut came for Delhi Dynamos (now Odisha FC) way back in 2016. He scored a brace on his debut, against Chennaiyin FC. He helped Dynamos cruise past FC Goa by scoring his first ISL hat-trick. Marcelinho won the Golden Boot for scoring the most goals in the 2016 season (10). He then had a two-year stint with the now-defunct FC Pune City. His notable goals in the 2017/18 season were a brace against ATK and a hat-trick in a 5-0 win against NorthEast United FC.  

In the 2018/19 season, Marcelinho scored six league goals in 14 appearances for the franchise. Ahead of the 2019/20 season, the Brazilian joined the newly-inducted Hyderabad FC. His first goal for the Nizams came against Jamshedpur FC in a 3-1 loss. He is a set-piece specialist, and he showed his quality by scoring two direct free-kicks. He ended the season with seven goals in 14 appearances.

His 2020/21 season for Odisha FC was a one to forget. He had quarrels with the head coach. After seeking a mid-season transfer to ATKMB, Marcelinho scored two goals in 8 appearances.

Back to top button