Team India squad when an ICC event was last held in Australia: Where are they now?

The cricket fraternity is preparing for the 2022 T20 World Cup. The event will be held in Australia. It is the first time that the T20 WC will be held in Australia. The last ICC event that was held in Australia was the 2015 ODI World Cup. Australia won that event. They co-hosted the event along with New Zealand. India did well in that tournament. They reached the semi-finals but could not defeat Australia. That said, India is the firm favourite to win the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia. On that note, here, we take a look at the India squad when an ICC event was last held in Australia.

Openers: Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan were the openers in the India squad when an ICC event was last held in Australia. For the past few years, India has persisted with the Rohit and Shikhar duo at the top of the order. Performances-wise, they have been brilliant and it’s no surprise to still see them as part of the ODI setup together.


India is likely to go in with the same duo for the 2023 ODI World Cup. However, for the upcoming T20 World Cup, India’s opening combination will be that of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul.

Batters: Virat Kohli (VC), Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, and Ambati Rayudu

Virat Kohli was the vice-captain when India last played an ICC event in Australia. He was India’s third-best batter as he scored 305 runs in eight games. Had he done well in the semi-finals, India could have won the game.

Raina scored runs at an average of 56 and a strike rate close to 110 in that event. The southpaw even hit a century in that competition. Rahane played at No.4 but did not enjoy a memorable tournament. Rayudu came in as the backup keeper and he did not get to be a part of the action. While Virat is still part of the Indian Team, Raina recently retired from all forms of the game. Rahane and Rayudu play in the IPL but both are far from Team India. Rahane does have a chance in Tests, though.


Wicket-keepers: MS Dhoni (C)

MS Dhoni was the skipper in the India squad when an ICC event was last held in Australia. After winning the 2011 World Cup, there was no doubt as to who would lead India in Australia. MS Dhoni was the skipper and had a great role to play in the lower middle order.

The Jharkhand man scored 237 runs and they came at an average of close to 60 and a strike rate nearing 100. It was a stunning contribution but India could not do enough to win the tournament. MS Dhoni plays in the IPL and will be a part of IPL 2023.

All-Rounders: Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel

Stuart Binny was one of the very few pace-bowling all-rounders in India at that moment. Since the World Cup was in Australia, Binny was selected. The player has now retired from international cricket and plays in tournaments such as Road Safety World Series.


Both Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel are still a part of the Indian Team. Since Jadeja is injured, Axar will be India’s spin-bowling all-rounder for T20 World Cup.

Bowlers: R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma and Umesh Yadav

Barring Mohit Sharma, all the other members of this bowling line-up are still a part of the Indian Team. Mohit was a net bowler in IPL 2022 for the Gujarat Titans.

While Ashwin and Bhuvi are a part of the T20 World Cup squad, Shami could also be a part of it. At the moment, he is on the standby list. Umesh recently made a comeback to the T20I squad but is unlikely to be an active part of the format in the future.


Nesara V Jagannatha

Books, Movies & Sports! A cricket aficionado...

Related Articles

Back to top button