Sunil Gavaskar picks his Indian XI for the ICC WTC Final; leaves out Shardul Thakur and Umesh Yadav

ICC WTC Final will take place from 7-11th June in England.

ICC WTC Final: World Test Championship Final is around the corner. The summit clash will see India and Australia locking horns with each other from the 7th to the 11th of June at Oval England. Talking about India, this is for the second time they have reached the finals and with the kind of squad they have it’s fair to say that it’ll be the best opportunity for them to lift the ICC trophy after 13 years.

Sunil Gavaskar picks his Indian XI for the ICC WTC Final; leaves out Shardul Thakur and Umesh Yadav

Batting great Sunil Gavaskar has picked his Indian XI for the ICC WTC Final. The former cricketer picked Rohit Sharma and young Shubman Gill as the two openers for the clash against Australia at the Oval. The duo has been performing extremely well in the longest format of the game.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli will bat at  No.3 and No 4 in Sunil Gavaskar’s Indian XI for the WTC Final. It’s fair to say that they are the backbone of the lineup and a lot will be dependent on them. If the team has to fancy their chances of winning, they need to click.


Sunil Gavaskar then picked Ajinkya Rahane along with KL Rahul to bat in the middle order. While Rahane will his comeback for the team after more than a year, Gavaskar backed Rahul to keep wickets in place of KS Bharat.

What was surprising was that he didn’t pick four seamers and instead went with both Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin in the team, leaving out Shardul Thakur, who has been crucial for India with both bat and ball in the overseas conditions.

Gavaskar also surprised many when he picked Jaydev Unadkat ahead of Umesh Yadav in the team. The left-arm seamer recently made a return to the team after his heroics in the domestic circuit. Whereas Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj are two seamers in his XI.


Sunil Gavaskar’s Indian XI for the ICC WTC Final. 

Here’s Sunil Gavaskar’s playing XI for WTC Final:

Rohit Sharma (C)
Shubman Gill
Cheteshwar Pujara
Virat Kohli
Ajinkya Rahane
KL Rahul (Wk)
Ravindra Jadeja
R Ashwin
Jaydev Unadkat
Mohammad Shami
Mohammed Siraj


Here’s India’s Test squad WTC final: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.


Related Articles

Back to top button