“Rohit and VK won’t be playing T20Is anymore?”, Twitter reacts as BCCI announces India’s T20I squad for Sri Lanka series

India and Sri Lanka will be involved in 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is in January. BCCI recently announced the squads for the same. There were a few interesting selections. Here, we take a look at how Twitter reacted as BCCI announces India’s T20I squad for the Sri Lanka series next month.

BCCI announces India’s T20I squad for the Sri Lanka series next month

After the debacle in the 2022 T20 World Cup, it was expected that India would make some drastic changes. It appears that the T20I squad is headed towards the same. While Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are not part of the XI, KL Rahul will miss the series due to his wedding. Interestingly, Rishabh Pant is also not in the squad and so is Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Hardik Pandya, as expected, will lead the squad. Suryakumar Yadav will be his deputy. Mukesh Kumar and Shivam Mavi will be a part of this squad. Both these players could make their debut in the tournament.

India’s T20I squad for the SL series: Hardik Pandya (C), SuryakumarYadav, Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzi Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.


Twitter reacts to the selection

India’s approach needs to change in the T20 format. The next big event is the T20 World Cup, which will happen in 2024. Most importantly, the ODI World Cup will happen in 2023 and the management must also manage the workload accordingly. Hence, many fans were curious to see the squad that would be selected. At the outset, there were no major surprises. However, some changes in the squad point towards the fact that India might have a seperate squad for T20Is from now. Here is a look at how Twitter reacted to the squad selection for the series:





Nesara V Jagannatha

Books, Movies & Sports! A cricket aficionado...

Related Articles

Back to top button