CricketIPL 2022News

“One Sixth Of The Year”- Popular Journalist Reacts To IPL 2022 Dates

The biggest T20 tournament on earth, the Indian Premier League, is all set to begin on March 26 in Maharashtra. For the first time in the IPL history, only two cities will host the entire league stage, and for the first time in two years, there will be a live audience for the first match of the season in IPL 2022.

After the IPL Governing Council meeting that happened yesterday, it was revealed that the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League would start from the 26th of March, and then on March 27, there will be a double-header for the fans.

Mumbai’s three stadiums and Pune’s MCA Stadium will host the entire season. Since there are two new franchises – Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans – in this year’s IPL season, the tournament will have 74 matches. The final match is scheduled to happen on May 29.


So, the tournament will take place from March 26 to May 29 as the Indian cricket team fans are in store for the grandest IPL season of all time. While it is a big development for Indian cricket, it seems a few fans outside India did not take it well because a popular journalist who writes for Wisden had the following comment reacting to IPL’s schedule:

“One-sixth of the year,” the journalist commented. 

IPL 2022 promises to be the biggest T20 cricket tournament in history

Not many tournaments can match the hype and the excitement levels of the Indian Premier League. With the tournament set to return to India, fans should expect top-quality matches and electric atmosphere for all the matches this year.


It will be interesting to see which team comes out on top in the second-ever 10-team IPL season. The previous one happened in 2011, when the Pune Warriors and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala joined the league. At that time, the Chennai Super Kings emerged as the champions.


Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button