CricketIPL 2022News

A Twitter User Shared One Interesting Coincidence In The 20th Over Of Both Innings In SRH vs GT Match

The Gujarat Titans climbed to the top of the IPL 2022 points table with a close win against the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Wankhede Stadium. GT skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and elected to field first. Mohammed Shami removed opposition captain Kane Williamson early, but half-centuries from Aiden Markram and Abhishek Sharma guided SRH to a good score.

It seemed like the Sunrisers Hyderabad would end with a total of around 170 runs. However, Shashank Singh played an incredible cameo of 25 runs from just six balls to inspire the Hyderabad-based franchise to 195/6 in 20 overs.

Chasing 196 to win their seventh match of the competition, Hardik Pandya’s team got off to a great start with Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill adding 69 runs for the first wicket. Umran Malik turned the match upside down with a five-wicket haul, but Rashid Khan and Rahul Tewatia guided GT home with a fine partnership of 59 runs for the sixth wicket.


Speaking to the host broadcasters after the match, winning captain Hardik Pandya said:

“I don’t know why. I keep joking in the dressing room, that God is on our side. It’s happening quite often, so I’m scared that by the time the big games come around, we might run out of luck. It’s been fantastic. People are stepping up. A lot of credit goes to the support staff as well.”

The 20th over of the SRH vs GT match had an interesting coincidence

Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 25 runs off the last over in their innings which was bowled by Lockie Ferguson. Shashank Singh and Marco Jansen hit four sixes and took a single in that over.

Later in the match, Jansen received the hard task of bowling the last over in the GT innings with 22 runs needed to win. Tewatia and Rashid hit four sixes and took a single as GT won the game with five wickets in hand.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button