List of Award winners in SA20 2023

Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the first season of SA20. Not many expected them to lift the trophy after the first edition. Hence, it was a stunning win for them. On that note, here, we take a look at the award winners of SA20 2023.

A solid debut for the South African T20 League

Both on the commercial front and in terms of talent, South Africa was lagging behind. However, the board made a conscious effort to organize a league and has done an excellent job in conducting the first season of the same. One of the big moves was bringing owners of IPL franchises as the owners of the teams in the SA20 League.

While IPL is the most popular T20 league, there have been contenders for the second spot. In its first season itself, SA20 has managed to take this spot, at least for now. While the tournament generated excellent viewership, the local crowd was also interested as we could see many fans thronging the stadiums to watch the fixtures. It needs to be seen how the organizers would improve the league in the coming years.


List of Award winners in the SA20 2023

Very few expected SEC to reach the playoffs, let alone them reaching the finals and win it. However, that is how the T20 format is and hence, it was not a major surprise to see the team win the league. The likes of Jos Buttler and Anrich Nortje dominated in their respective departments while Aiden Markram was in top form. Roelof van der Merwe, despite his age, was one of the best performers in the league.

  • Winner – Sunrisers Eastern Cape
  • Runners-up – Pretoria Capitals
  • Most Runs – Jos Buttler (391)
  • Most Wickets – Roelof van der Merwe and Anrich Nortje (20)
  • Man of the Series/Player of the Tournament – Aiden Markram
  • Man of the match/Player of the Match – Roelof van der Merwe


Nesara V Jagannatha

Books, Movies & Sports! A cricket aficionado...

Related Articles

Back to top button