Jason Holder Selects His All-Time Test XI; Leaves Out Sachin Tendulkar And Rahul Dravid

Star all-rounder of the West Indies cricket team Jason Holder recently picked his all-time Test XI during an interview with News 9. The Caribbean star clarified that he would be biased while picking the team because he selected a total of six West Indian cricketers in his all-time Test XI. There were six Caribbean players, three Australians, one Indian and one Pakistani in his team.

The team looks well-balanced. The only Indian in the team is Virender Sehwag, who will open the innings with Chris Gayle. Both Sehwag and Gayle are aggressive openers who can turn the match at any moment. While Gayle scored 7,214 runs in 103 Test matches, Sehwag aggregated 8,586 runs in 104 Tests at an average of 49.34.

Ricky Ponting and Brian Lara present in the middle order

The middle-order comprised some of the all-time greats like former Australian captain Ricky Ponting and former West Indies captain Brian Lara. Both batters achieved a lot of success in the longest format of the game. The next three names on the team were Sir Vivian Richards, Sir Garfield Sobers and wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist.


Being a fast bowler himself, Jason Holder selected three pacers in his team, namely Curtly Ambrose, Malcolm Marshall, and Wasim Akram. He labeled Ambrose as his favorite of all time. Shane Warne was the primary spin-bowling option present in the all-time XI.

I am sorry for being a bit biased: Jason Holder

Here’s what Jason Holder said while selecting his all-time Test XI, “I am sorry for being a bit biased but Christopher Henry Gayle at one with Virender Sehwag as his partner. It would be a great spectacle. Three, I would have Ricky Ponting. Four, I would have Brian Lara. Five, I would have Vivian Richards. Six, Sir Garfield Sobers. Seven, Adam Gilchrist. Eight, Shane Warne. Nine, Curtly Ambrose – my favourite of all time. Malcolm Marshall at 10 and Wasim Akram at 11.” Holder also gave special mention to Glenn McGrath, Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn, and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Here is his all-time Test XI: Chris Gayle, Virender Sehwag, Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara, Viv Richards, Garfield Sobers, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Curtly Ambrose, Malcolm Marshall, Wasim Akram.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button