Ishan Kishan Breaks National Record Held By Gautam Gambhir During 3rd T20I Against South Africa

Indian cricket team star Ishan Kishan has added his name to the record books by scoring a half-century against the South African cricket team. The third T20I of the five-match series between the Indian cricket team and the South African cricket team is underway right now, where the Proteas won the toss and opted to field first.

Opening batters Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad added 97 runs for the first wicket for the Indian cricket team. Keshav Maharaj broke the partnership, and the South African cricket team then made a comeback. The Proteas restricted the Men in Blue to 179/5 in their 20 overs. At one stage, it looked like India would finish around 190 or 200, but the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik failed to capitalize.

Ishan Kishan was one of the two half-centurions for the Indian cricket team in the first innings. He scored 54 runs off 35 balls. The southpaw smashed five fours and two sixes in his entertaining knock.


It was his 13th T20I innings for the Indian cricket team, and he now has 453 runs to his name, the most by an Indian left-handed batter. Previously, the record was held by Gautam Gambhir, who scored 415 runs in his first 13 innings.


Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad placed the Indian cricket team in a good position

In the first two matches, Ruturaj Gaikwad failed to fire all cylinders, but he looked in good nick tonight as he also scored a half-century. Ishan and Ruturaj placed the Men in Blue in a decent position. Here’s what Gaikwad had to say after the first innings ended:

“It is a slightly tricky wicket to start off. There was a little bit of extra bounce. The slower ones were holding a little bit. As the game has progressed, the pitch is getting better. We are 10-15 runs short but 180 is a good score, we can bowl well on this wicket.”



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button