Top 8 Batsmen to Score Most runs in an over in the IPL

The most runs you can score off an over with 6 legal deliveries is 36. The IPL has seen many batsmen who have the capability to do so, and some have come quite close too. Today we will look at the top 8 most runs scored off an over in the IPL.


#1. Chris Gayle – 36 vs KTK in 2011

Chris Gayle is arguably the greatest T20 batsman of all time. The ‘Universe Boss’, as he has been nicknamed, has wowed crowds with his batting all over the world. The Jamaican cricketer is in great demand all over the world.

Gayle unleashed hell on Kochi Tuskers Kerala in the 2011 edition of the IPL. He hit an unbelievable 36 runs off that over. In addition to it, there was a no-ball in the same over, which added the total runs from an over to 37. Gayle got out soon after that, but the damage was already done.


#2. Suresh Raina – 32 vs PBKS in 2014

Suresh Raina recently retired from international cricket, but his legacy goes on. His batting prowess ranks him as one of India’s greatest batting talents ever. Although his international career is over, we can still watch him play in the IPL.

In a match against Punjab Kings, Raina was a man on fire in this match, almost single-handedly winning the match for CSK. Chasing a mammoth target of 227, Raina scored a whirlwind 87 from 25 balls. Out of those 87 runs, 32 came off a single over. Raina sadly got run out and CSK lost the match.

#3. Virender Sehwag – 30 vs DC in 2008

Virender Sehwag is widely regarded as one of the best explosive batsmen of all time. He demolished bowling attacks all over the world with ease and comfort. Chasing 143 runs, Sehwag let loose and smashed 94 runs from just 41 balls. Of those, 30 came off just 6 balls. Delhi Daredevils won the match without any hiccups by 9 wickets, thanks to Sehwag’s masterful batting.


#4. Shaun Marsh – 30 vs RCB in 2011

Shaun Marsh was a batting mainstay for Kings XI Punjab (Punjab Kings) from the very beginning of the IPL till 2017. He always performed for the team whenever it was asked of him. Batting first, Punjab decimated the RCB bowling lineup, piling on 232 runs in 20 overs. It was all thanks to Adam Gilchrist’s ton and Marsh’s explosive batting. Marsh scored 79 runs from just 49 balls. He hit JJ van der Wath for 30 runs in a single over.

#5. Chris Gayle – 30 vs PWI in 2012

This match is an iconic moment in IPL history. Chris Gayle cemented his legacy as the undisputed legend of T20 cricket, scoring an unbelievable 175 from 66 balls. His humongous knock propelled RCB to 263/5 in 20 overs. Pune Warriors India stood no chance and were bundled out for a measly 133. Gayle hit 13 fours and 17 sixes in his innings of 175. It is the highest score in the T20s till date.

#6. Virat Kohli – 30 vs GL in 2016

After CSK was banned from the IPL, Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants appeared in the IPL. Brendon McCullum led GL in the 2016 edition of the IPL. Although they were armed with a decent bowling attack, RCB however had other intentions. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers were wreckers-in-chief as they clobbered GL all over the park. Both Kohli and ABD hit scintillating centuries and propelled RCB to a mammoth total of 248. Despite having a great batting lineup, Gujarat Lions succumbed to the pressure and were bowled out for 104 runs.


#7. Rahul Tewatia – 30 vs PBKS in 2020

Rahul Tewatia rose to international fame after he single-handedly turned around the ship for Rajasthan Royals and won them the match against Punjab Kings. Chasing 224 runs, things seemed bleak for Rajasthan as Samson was the only one who seemed to be getting any runs after skipper Steve Smith departed. Tewatia however changed the course of the match, hitting 30 runs in a single over. He ended up scoring 53 from 31 balls.

#8. Pat Cummins – 30 vs CSK in 2021*

This is the latest entry in this list, as Pat Cummins absolutely demolished the Chennai bowling line-up. After a top-order collapse for the KKR, Cummins took matters into his own hands. Cummins hit 66 from just 34 balls. However, his improbable road to victory was not to be. A run out in the final over of the match ended the innings for KKR, and CSK won the match in an exciting fashion.


Related Articles

Back to top button