IPL: Ranking the current teams based on win percentage in IPL history

IPL is in its 13th season and there have been close to 10-12 teams who have played in the best T20 league. But at the moment there are eight teams out of which most of them have been since the start of the IPL. Fans constantly keep fighting as to which is the best team in the IPL. If you look at the number of titles then Mumbai Indians have won the most but if you look at the playoffs appearances then it will be Chennai Super Kings. One of the points which everyone misses is the win percentage. Which team has the best win percentage in the history of the IPL? Let’s have a look at the teams based on their win percentage in the history of the IPL.

8. Delhi Capitals – 44.27%

Delhi Capitals who started as Delhi Daredevils have the worst win percentage in all the eight teams of the IPL. They started off well as a solid team but then in the middle years, they struggled badly as they finished last on a number of occasions. They have done well in the last couple of years since the change of the name. But overall, they have won 85 matches and lost 105 matches with two no results.

7. Kings XI Punjab – 46.31%

Kings XI Punjab has never been the contenders for the trophy except in IPL 2014 when they reached the Finals. They change their captain almost every year. There are not a lot of players who you can associate with Kings XI Punjab over a long period of time. They haven’t qualified for the playoffs since 2014 which is not a great sign. Out of the 190 matches which they have played, they have won 88 and lost 102.


6. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 46.42%

Royal Challengers Bangalore is the third team that has never won the IPL but still, they have a lot of fan following. RCB managed to qualify for the playoffs this year but were knocked out in the Eliminator. RCB has had some of the best T20 players but somehow, every year they end up on the losing side. They have a win percentage of 46.42% as they have won 91 matches and lost 101 matches with four no results.

5. Rajasthan Royals – 50.31%

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural season of the IPL but since then haven’t won the trophy. After their comeback, they haven’t really been the old RR as they have lost more games than they have won. This year they finished last on the points table which is a worrying sign for a franchise like RR. They still have a win percentage of more than 50% as they have won 81 games and lost 78 games with two no results.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders – 51.56%

Kolkata Knight Riders didn’t have the best results in the first three years as they kept losing matches and didn’t qualify for the semis even once. In 2011, they changed most of the things and bought in professionals to run the team which made a huge impact. They won two titles in 2012 and 2014 and since then they are one of the teams to watch out for. They have won 99 matches and lost 93 out of the 192 which they have played.


3. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 53.65%

Sunrisers Hyderabad is one of the underrated teams in the IPL. SRH has made the playoffs every single time in the last five years. They won the title in 2016 and ended as runners up in 2018. They have played 123 games out of which 66 they have won and 57 they have lost. SRH has a chance to reach its third Final in just five years.

2. Mumbai Indians – 58.91%

Mumbai Indians might be first when it comes to the counting of trophies but in the win percentage, they are second on the list. MI wasn’t the best team in the first couple of years but slowly they understood who the tournament works and they have done really well. They have won in 2013,2015,2017 and 2019 and are looking in a good position to lift their fifth trophy. They are the only team to play more than 200 matches as they have played 202 games out of which they have won 119 and lost 83.

1. Chennai Super Kings – 59.21%

Chennai Super Kings is the number one team when it comes to winning percentage. They had the record of reaching the playoffs every single season which was broken in this year as they failed to qualify for the playoffs. They have won three titles so far all under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Out of the 179 games which they have played, CSK has won 106 and lost 72 with one no result.


Shubham K

I am currently studying Computer Engineering at SVNIT Surat. I am a big cricket fan and like writing about Cricket.

Related Articles

Back to top button