IPL Mega Auction 2022: One Surprise Release Each Team Might Make

The IPL Mega Auction 2022 promises to be a blockbuster event. Ten franchises will enter the auction room with the aim of preparing a squad that can win the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. Unlike the previous few auctions, in IPL Mega Auction 2022, all teams will have a loaded purse because they will be allowed to retain only a maximum of 4 players.

Currently, all squads have around 20 players. However, most of them will return to the auction pool before the IPL Mega Auction 2022 begins. Fans already expect that some players will be retained before the IPL Mega Auction 2022. But as always, there could be some surprises in store. Here is one surprise player release each team might make.

1. Chennai Super Kings surprise release before IPL Mega Auction 2022 – Faf du Plessis

South African star Faf du Plessis was the second-highest run-getter in IPL 2021. He has been with CSK for a long time, but their association may end. As per reports, Chennai are planning to retain one overseas player. The report claims it will be either DJ Bravo or Du Plessis. If CSK picks Bravo, then releasing Du Plessis will be a big surprise.


2. Punjab Kings – KL Rahul

Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul is reportedly looking for his release before the next auction. Rahul has been with Punjab for four years and has been the team’s best player. Thus, it will be a massive surprise for the Punjab Kings fans if the franchises indeed allows Rahul to return to the auction pool.

3. Delhi Capitals – Shreyas Iyer

Former Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer is another player who is reportedly looking for his release. The reports have claimed that Iyer wants a leadership role. Thus, DC might retain their Indian trio of Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant along with Kagiso Rabada or Anrich Nortje. Nobody would have imagined in 2020 that Iyer may leave DC so soon.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders – Nitish Rana

Left-handed batter Nitish Rana has been a consistent performer for the Kolkata Knight Riders. But the chances of his release are high because KKR may retain Venkatesh Iyer, Shubman Gill and Varun CV. There is also a possibility that KKR may keep only two Indian players and opt for two overseas players. But seeing the association of Rana and KKR end will indeed be a surprise.


5. Mumbai Indians surprise release before IPL Mega Auction 2022 – Ishan Kishan

Mumbai Indians’ first two retained players are certainly going to Jasprit Bumrah and Rohit Sharma. The overseas name could be Kieron Pollard or Trent Boult. For the final spot, there is a three-way race between Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya. Looking at how much Ishan has grown in the last three-four years with MI, it will be a surprise if the franchise release him.

6. Royal Challengers Bangalore surprise release before IPL Mega Auction 2022: Yuzvendra Chahal

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been very successful for RCB in the IPL. He has been with the team since 2014. But if RCB decide to retain the quartet of Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell and Devdutt Padikkal, Chahal might be released. It will be surprising if this happens because RCB may lose their strike bowler.

7. Rajasthan Royals – Ben Stokes

Only a maximum of 2 overseas players can be retained. So, Rajasthan Royals may opt for the services of Jos Buttler and Jofra Archer again. Ben Stokes is the world’s best all-rounder right now. So, it will be interesting to see if he is released. If he is released, though, many eyebrows will be raised.


8. Sunrisers Hyderabad – Jonny Bairstow

Jonny Bairstow has been an excellent player for Sunrisers Hyderabad. It will be a shock if he returns to the auction pool, but because of the overseas player retention limit, SRH may have to release him. Kane Williamson and Rashid Khan could be the choices of the SRH team management. So, Bairstow can surprisingly lose his contract.


Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button