IPL 2020: First ever centurion of every IPL franchise

Indian Premier League (IPL) is now the most widely followed cricket league in the world, but not too many people would remember some of the records that were created in the first few years of the origination of this league.

One such record is the first ever century scored for each franchise and who scored it? The fans might remember one or two centuries, but let’s talk about the first ever centurion of each and every IPL franchise which is currently active –

#1 Kolkata Knight Riders


Kolkata Knight Riders took on Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first ever match of the IPL in 2008 and in the first match itself, the former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum set the stage alight with an unbelievable knock of 158 runs.

It remained the highest individual score in the tournament until 2011 when Chris Gayle broke the record.

#2 Chennai Super Kings


After a century was scored in the inaugural game of the IPL, it was replicated in the second game as well and the batsman to reach the three figure mark was the Chennai Super Kings legend Michael Hussey who batted at no. 5 in that game and smashed 116 runs to guide CSK to a match winning total of 240 against Kings XI Punjab.

Hussey later played as an opener for CSK for many, many years.

#3 Mumbai Indians


The former Sri Lankan captain Sanath Jayasuriya was the one who got to the three figure mark for the first time for Mumbai Indians and he did it in IPL 2008. It was a treat to watch Jayasuriya bat at the top of the order in the first season of IPL alongside the Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar.

#4 Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB had some of the legends of the game playing for them in the first IPL season, but none of them could score a century. The first century for RCB eventually came in the second season off the bat of a teenager named Manish Pandey.


Pandey, who was only 19 years of age at that stage, scored a hundred opening the batting for RCB against Deccan Chargers.

#5 Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals were the champions of the first IPL season, but they did it with a collective effort rather than one individual producing moments of magic and that’s the reason why they dominated the entire tournament in 2008 despite the fact that none of their batsmen scored a century.


It was in 2010 that Yusuf Pathan scored the first ever century for the Rajasthan Royals, playing against Mumbai Indians. Yusuf scored that hundred off just 37 balls.

#6 Kings XI Punjab

Shaun Marsh was the orange cap winner in the first IPL as he was the only batsman in the tournament who scored more than 600 runs. It was him who scored the first century as well for Punjab and he did it against the eventual champions Rajasthan Royals.


On the back of Marsh’s hundred in that game, KXIP beat Rajasthan by 41 runs.

#7 Delhi Daredevils

Whenever we talk about AB de Villiers, we generally think RCB, but before becoming a vital cog in the RCB batting line-up, De Villiers used to play for Delhi Daredevils and it was for Daredevils only that De Villiers scored his first ever IPL hundred. It was also the first ever IPL hundred scored by any batsman for Delhi.


#8 Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad is the newest franchise in the IPL at the moment. It came into existence only a few years ago after the Deccan Chargers were terminated and the Sunrisers bought the ownership to create a new team.

The current Sunrisers captain David Warner scored the first hundred for the men in orange in IPL 2016, playing against Kolkata Knight Riders. Sunrisers went on to win the IPL trophy that season.



I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.

Related Articles

Back to top button