Here is the reason why Shubman Gill was given out

Shubman Gill scored 18 runs in second innings.

The ongoing final of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) is currently taking place between India and Australia at the Oval, England. India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to field first. His decision didn’t pay off as Australia posted 469 runs in the first innings and then bundled out India for 296 runs before setting them a target of 444 runs to chase. 

Here is the reason why Shubman Gill was given outside 

Chasing the target, Indian openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill looked good to eyes and gave their team a solid start. They stitched 41 runs for the opening partnership until a controversy happened that led to Gill being back in the hut for 18 runs. 

Just on the stroke of lunch, Scott Boland bowled a good length ball around off stump. Shubman Gill went forward to defend, the ball kicked up on him and took the bat’s shoulder. It went towards Cameron Green at the gully quickly and the all-rounder showed sharp reflexes and pouched the ball. 


It seemed that ball touched the ground as Cameron Green took the catch. The umpires sent the decision upstairs to check for a clean catch. Green took the catch but his hand went down and touches the ground because of the force of the ball. After looking at it for a while, umpired termed out and Shubman Gill was back in the hut for just 18 runs. 

The decision made the Indian contingent extremely dissatisfied as Skipper Rohit Sharma had a chat with umpires and even Shubman Gill was not happy as he went in disbelief. The decision was criticised by many fans and pundits, who gave their verdict. 

Here is the reason why Shubman Gill was given out

As per the laws of ICC, a catch will be fair if the ball is held in the hand or hands of a fielder, even if the hand holding the ball is touching the ground. In the case of Shubman Gill, exactly the same thing was on display and hence Shubman Gill was termed out. 


Related Articles

Back to top button