Here is the reason why KL Rahul and Axar Patel will miss the series against New Zealand

India will take on New Zealand in three ODIs and three T20Is.

After an enthralling show against Sri Lanka, India will lock horns against New Zealand in the white-ball series. The ODI series between the teams will kick start from 18th January in Hyderabad whereas the second and third games will be played on 21st and 24th January in Raipur and Indore respectively. The focus will then shift towards the T20I series, which is slated to take place from 27th January to 1st February.

BCCI announces squad for ODI and T20I series for New Zealand series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday (13th January) announced the squads for the three-match ODI and T20I series against New Zealand. For the ODI series, Rohit Sharma will lead the team with Hardik Pandya being his deputy.

KS Bharat has received his maiden call-up with Shahbaz Ahmed also being named in the side. Whereas Arshdeep Singh has been dropped and has been replaced by Shardul Thakur in the side. The rest of the squad is pretty similar to what India fielded in the ODI series against Sri Lanka.


For the T20I series, Hardik Pandya will captain the team while Suryakumar Yadav will be the vice-captain of the team.  Prithvi Shaw has been finally recalled to the squad after his staggering domestic performances. While Jitesh Sharma has retained his place in the team.

Here’s India’s squad for the ODI series against New Zealand

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik


Here’s the Indian squad for the T20I series against New Zealand:

Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar

Here is the reason why KL Rahul and Axar Patel will miss the series against New Zealand

While the Indian squad for the ODI and T20I series was quite balanced, a few notables were missing from the team. KL Rahul and Axar Patel have been rested from both squads. However, the reason behind their missing the series against New Zealand has now been revealed.



It is learned as per the various media reports that both Rahul and Axar are about to get married during the series against New Zealand and therefore they have been given a break. Both were rumoured to get married during the Sri Lanka series but they’re being available due to family reasons quote depicts why they are rested.

Related Articles

Back to top button