CricketIPL 2023News

“He is a local player and has become consistent,” Wasim Akram on CSK’s future captain after MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni is likely to retire this season or maybe after next season.

Former Pakistani cricketer talked about the future of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) after MS Dhoni will retire from the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. He said that the franchise won’t opt for a foreign captain and instead, they will pick Ajinkya Rahane as there’s no better option than him.

“Chennai won’t get a better option than Rahane,” says Wasim Akram

IPL 2023 potentially will be the last season for MS Dhoni in the league. The four-time champions have been extremely dominant in the league under his leadership as he has guided them to four titles.

But there have been many speculations about his career. It’s in expected that MS Dhoni is likely to retire after the season as he has been quite vocal about retiring in front of Chepauk stadium and this season CSK has marked a return to their den after three years.


It will be a great headache for the team about who will be their next captain. They tried to pass the baton last year when they named Ravindra Jadeja as the skipper but the move didn’t work out as he failed as a captain and the keeper batter took back the charge.

But Wasim Akram feels that CSK have a good option in Ajinkya Rahane as he’s a local player and has been consistent as well. He elaborated:

“I think Chennai won’t get a better option than Rahane as he is a local player and has become consistent. As we have seen, local players are more successful in franchise tournaments.”


“Foreign players are not capable of leading since they cannot even recall the names of their teammates. Rahane will therefore make a great captain for Chennai if Dhoni decides he has had enough. 

Ajinkya Rahane notably has been the revelation with the bat this season. He has scored 224 runs at a great strike rate of 189.93. He has notched up 2 half-centuries in just 7 appearances.

Chennai Super Kings squad for the IPL 2023

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana, Akash Singh, Dwaine Pretorius, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, RS Hangargekar, Mitchell Santner, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Bhagath Varma, Sisanda Magala, Nishant Sindhu


Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button