“From Feeling Sorry For Our Pace Attack To A Fast-Bowling Captain”- Twitter Reacts As Jasprit Bumrah Becomes India’s 36th Test Captain

There was a time when the Indian cricket team did not have a strong bunch of fast bowlers. It was one of the main reasons behind the team’s struggles in overseas conditions. However, the trend has changed now, and the Indian cricket team has one of the mightiest pace attacks. Earlier today, BCCI named Jasprit Bumrah as the captain of the Indian cricket team for their upcoming fifth Test against the England cricket team.

Fans should note that this series began last year with proper batters Virat Kohli and Joe Root leading both nations. However, in 2022, England will be led by fast-bowling all-rounder Ben Stokes, while the Indian cricket team will play under the leadership of Jasprit Bumrah.

It is a massive achievement for Bumrah who made his Test debut only four years ago against the South African cricket team. Fans were skeptical about this, but former Indian cricket team opener Aakash Chopra gave a perfect reply to them and said:


“Jasprit Bumrah is going to lead in the Edgbaston Test, this is a huge thing. It’s a huge honor. A lot of people ask why a bowler cannot be the captain? Do bowlers have less brains that they are not able to strategize? Dismiss that totally, their brains work more than batters because they have the ability to read different batters.”

The Indian cricket team started the year with Virat Kohli as captain, but as the year has passed, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya captained the team this year already. For the first time in cricket history, India will have six captains in the same calendar year, with Bumrah being the sixth one.

Fans on Twitter react as BCCI name Jasprit Bumrah as the new captain

Here are some of the top Twitter reactions to Bumrah being named the new skipper of India:



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button