Four Bowlers to dismiss MS Dhoni for a duck in IPL history

The Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni has been a legend of the game. He has been playing in the IPL since the start of the tournament and still is one of the most feared batsmen in the IPL. He has scored over 4500 runs in the IPL at an average of 40.63 and a strike rate of 136.68. He has been a consistent performer and a match-winner for his franchise. MS Dhoni has been dismissed for a duck in the IPL only four times and that itself tells a story

He is one of those players who rarely gets out without making an impact in the game. In a career of over 200 IPL matches, he has been dismissed for a duck only four times. So, let us have a look at who are the four bowlers who have managed to get rid of MS Dhoni for a duck in the IPL.

4. Shane Watson

Shane Watson who has been a part of the Chennai Super Kings franchise was the first bowler to dismiss MS Dhoni for a duck in the history of the IPL. CSK were up against Rajasthan Royals and Dhoni walked in to bat at 235-3 with just a few balls left.


Dhoni tried to slog his first ball and got caught. He had no other option but to go for the big shot but unfortunately didn’t connect it and eventually got out for a golden duck. It didn’t matter in the end as CSK won the game quite comfortably.

3. Dirk Nannes

The left-arm pacer from Australia who also played for the Netherlands became the second bowler to get rid of MS Dhoni for a duck in the IPL. CSK was up against Delhi Capitals and they lost their first wicket with just 9 runs on the board.

Dhoni walked out to bat at No.3 but then was dismissed off his second ball by Dirk Nannes which meant that CSK was reduced to 13-2. CSK got bowled out for 112 and DC chased down the total pretty easily. This was Dhoni’s second duck in the same IPL season.


2. Harbhajan Singh

The Indian off-spinner who was part of the Chennai Super Kings franchise till 2020 was the first spinner to get the wicket of MS Dhoni for a duck. In IPL 2015, CSK was up against Mumbai Indians and MI posted a total of 187-6 in their 20 overs. Chasing 188, CSK was in a decent position and Dhoni walked in to bat at No.5 with the score reading 86-3.

Harbhajan Singh got Dhoni LBW and the CSK skipper was dismissed for a golden duck. CSK couldn’t get momentum after his dismissal and failed to chase down the total. Dhoni’s third duck in the IPL came five years later after his two ducks in IPL 2010.

1. Avesh Khan

Avesh Khan, the right-arm pacer from Delhi Capitals became the new entrant in this list as he got the wicket of MS Dhoni for a duck in their first game in IPL 2021. CSK were locking horns with DC in their first IPL of the 14th season of the biggest T20 league.


All the fans were excited to see the legend back in action and he came out to bat at 137-5 with more than four overs to go. The stage was set for the CSK skipper but he chopped one on the stumps while trying to go for the big shot. The young pacer was elated that he got the wicket of MS Dhoni for a duck and that too in their first IPL game. All the CSK fans were disappointed as they couldn’t see Dhoni smash those big sixes.

Shubham K

I am currently studying Computer Engineering at SVNIT Surat. I am a big cricket fan and like writing about Cricket.

Related Articles

Back to top button