CSA Announced The Schedule For India’s Tour Of South Africa At The End of 2021

South Africa will host the Netherlands and India

As things stand tumultuous on the eve of India’s fifth Test with England after a Covid scare, the itinerary for India’s tour to South Africa was announced. India will be playing all three formats of the game as they will be travelling to the Rainbow Nation at the end of the year to play three Test matches, three ODI’s and four T20I’s.


CSA Director of cricket, Graeme Smith, quoted, “It is probably the most congested home summer we have ever had. It is wonderful in these challenging times that there will be such high-quality cricket being played on our shores. This includes a full tour by India across all three formats.”

The last times these two teams collided with each other

Before the Indian team arrives in South Africa, as a prelude to the mega-event, the Netherlands will be also touring the southern shores of Africa to play a three-match ODI series with the Proteas.


It has been a while since both these teams have crossed paths. The last time they faced each other was when South Africa toured India in 2019. India inflicted a clean sweep in the three-match Test series while the T20 series just ahead of the maddening red-ball format ended up with the spoils shared.

Talking about touring South Africa, India last visited the Rainbow Nation in 2018 for a three-match Test series, followed by a six-match ODI contest and then a three-match T20 affair. India was flattened out in the first two Tests as South Africa secured an unassailable lead. However, the visitors paid them back with interest, as they managed to conquer the T20 and the ODI series comprehensively.

Dates for India’s tour of South Africa in 2021-22

1st Test in Johannesburg – December 17 to 21
2nd Test in Centurion – December 26 to 30
3rd Test in Johannesburg – January 3 to 7


1st ODI in Paarl – January 11
2nd ODI in Cape Town – January 14
3rd ODI in Cape Town – January 16

1st T20I in Cape Town – January 19
2nd T20I in Cape Town – January 21
3rd T20I in Paarl – January 23
4th T20I in Paarl – January 26


Related Articles

Back to top button