Twitter Reacts To Team India’s Squad Selection For 2021 T20 World Cup

India's players for the upcoming cricket fiesta

Team India’s squad for T20 World Cup: Finally, after the long wait and torturous countdown, BCCI announced the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. In one of the most explosive moves, they have appointed MS Dhoni, India’s most successful captain, as the mentor of the team.

Another important move that left the fans stunned was the re-inclusion of Ravichandran Ashwin in the T20 squad. India will be beginning their campaign against its arch-rivals, Pakistan, on the 24th of October.

The startling additions to the Indian squad

A major question that begged discussion before the announcement of the squad was the inclusion of Kul-Cha who have been terribly out of form for a while now. The apex Indian body managed to swap them for the likes of an experienced Ashwin and an exciting Axar Patel, whose spot may be judged on the basis of his performances in the imminent IPL.

The Indian team produced a decent blend of experience and excitement as newcomers like Suryakumar Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy and Ishan Kishan will add spice to the echelons while the experience of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja will be the calm in the storm.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami were the three fast bowlers included in the side while Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja were the two all-rounders. Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar were included in the list of standby players.


MS Dhoni will be India’s mentor

The fact that Dhoni will be presiding over the team as a mentor will act as a massive catalyst ahead of the culmination of the shortest format of the game. He led India to their maiden T20 World Cup championship in the tournament’s opening season and ever since, this tournament has been merciless to the Indians.

In the last edition of the tournament, India was eliminated in the semi-finals as West Indies packed a powerful punch to deny further advancement to India. The Indians will be rare to make amends as another World Cup beckons.

India’s squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami.

Twitter couldn’t contain their excitement as they filled the microblogging site with their cheers and arguments about the Indian squad for the extravaganza.


Related Articles

Back to top button