IPL 2012: Most runs, Most Wickets, Most Sixes, Most Fours and Fastest Fifties

The year 2012 was an eventful one for the Indian Premier League. In IPL 2012, the Kolkata Knight Riders laid their hands on the trophy for the very first time and the tournament saw a dark phase too where a total of 5 players were caught on charges of spot-fixing. While it all ended well with the Kolkata Knight Riders facing off against the Chennai Super Kings who had made it to yet another finals, and the cup being lifted by KKR, the scar that was left in the minds of the fans and the players, does tend to give hints of its presence till date.

Most Runs in IPL 2012:

The highest run-getter in this edition of the tournament was Chris Gayle yet again, for the second time on the trot. But, this time he had bettered his numbers by a lot. In the 14 matches that he played, Gayle smashed 733 runs including one century and 7 half-centuries. Gautam Gambhir who was the next batsman in the top 5 of the leader board of the top run-scorers of the tournament, had in 17 matches, 590 runs to his name.

Shikhar Dhawan who at the time played for the Deccan Chargers was the third-highest run-scorers with 569 runs to his name in 15 matches. Ajinkya Rahane came in next with 560 runs in 16 matches and Virender Sehwag grabbed the 5th and final slot in the list, having scored 495 runs in 16 matches.

1Chris Gayle15733
2Gautam Gambhir17590
3Shikhar Dhawan15569
4Ajinkya Rahane16560
5Virender Sehwag16495

Most Wickets in IPL 2012:

Morne Morkel of the Delhi Daredevils came to be the holder of the Purple Cap at the end of IPL with 25 wickets to his name in 16 matches and Sunil Narine of the Kolkata Knight Riders who was awarded the Player of the Season Award followed closely with just a wicketless than Morkel’s tally in the 15 matches that he played in.

Another legendary bowler, Lasith Malinga followed in with his exploits of 22 wickets in 14 matches. Umesh Yadav and Vinay Kumar with 14 wickets apiece in 15 and 17 matches respectively were the entrants at the 4th and 5th spot in the list of the top wicket-takers of IPL 2012.

1Morne Morkel1625
2Sunil Narine1524
3Lasith Malinga1422
4Umesh Yadav1719
5Vinay Kumar1519
Most Wickets in IPL 2012

Most Sixes in IPL 2012:

Another year came and Chris Gayle was at it yet again. Smashing 59 sixes in the 15 games that he played in, he topped the charts of the players with the most number of hits over the boundary rope in IPL 2012. The next few players on the list were way behind Gayle’s figures, and it had become a thing, that no one could surpass Gayle in hitting sixes in the Indian Premier League.


Kevin Pietersen who had played 8 matches, Cameron White who played in 13 matches and Dwayne Bravo who had played in 19 matches were the players with 20 sixes to their names and occupied the 2nd, 3rd and 4th spots. Virender Sehwag who was towards the fag end of his career, also made it a point to show his skills to the fullest as he came in at number 5 with 19 big hits in 16 games.

1Chris Gayle 1559
2Kevin Pietersen820
3Cameron White1320
4Dwayne Bravo1920
5Virender Sehwag1919
Most Sixes in IPL 2012

Most Fours in IPL 2012:

Ajinkya Rahane was the player in IPL 2012 who dethroned Sachin Tendulkar who had been holding the top spot in the list of most fours in a single season of the tournament for the last 2 seasons and hit 73 fours in 13 matches to secure the apex position. The next person on the list was Gautam Gambhir who hit 64 hits down the ground into the boundary rope in 17 matches.

Rahane’s mentor, Rahul Dravid hit 63 fours during the course of the tournament and was placed in the third position. Shikhar Dhawan and Virender Sehwag were the players who were slotted in at number 4 and 5, having hit 58 and 57 fours in 15 and 16 matches respectively.

1Ajinkya Rahane1673
2Gautam Gambhir1764
3Rahul Dravid1663
4Shikhar Dhawan1558
5Virender Sehwag1657
Most Fours in IPL 2012

Fastest Fifties in IPL 2012:

In IPL 2012, Owais Shah became the holder of the record of hitting the fastest 50 of the season. In a match against the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Shah hit a 19 ball half-century at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. Virender Sehwag and MS Dhoni also replicated the feat but took a ball extra as they got to their individual half-centuries in 20 oddballs.

AB de Villiers was the player to come in at the 4th position in the list of the players with the fastest fifties in this season of the Indian Premier League. De Villiers in a match against the Rajasthan Royals played this innings of his. And, at the 5th spot was the experienced Kiwi, Ross Taylor, for the Delhi Daredevils, as he smacked the RCB bowlers for a 22 ball half-century.

1Owais ShahRCB19
2Virender SehwagRR20
3MS DhoniMI20
4AB de VilliersRR21
5Ross TaylorRCB22
Fastest Fifties in IPL 2012

IPL 2012 Points Table:

RankTeamMatchWonLostTiedNRNet RRPoints

Share this post:
Tell Us What You Think

0 Comment

Leave a comment