Ajit Agarkar predicts India’s playing 11 for the WTC final

The Indian side has been blazing all guns as they have kickstarted their training sessions. After completing the mandatory quarantine regulations, Virat Kohli and his men are back on field for the WTC finals. The battle between India and New Zealand will begin from 18th June in Southampton.

The management has named a very balanced squad for the final. The side has the perfect composure in all the departments. However, it would be exciting to see how Virat decides the playing 11 based on the English turf. The pitch might favor the pace and swing for the fast bowlers.

India’s legendary former cricketer Ajit Agarkar has predicted his own playing 11 for the same event. He decided to go with 3 pacers and 2 spinners following the conditions. The former cricketer went on with Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal as the openers. Sadly KL Rahul was not the part of his squad.


Cheteswar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane featured in his 11 for the middle order batting. Rishabh Pant is the man behind the stumps in his team as he dropped Wriddhiman Saha. Pant’s recent form against the Australian side might come to be handy in the English conditions.

Agarkar decided to play safe as he picked 2 of the most experienced spinners in the side. Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were his go to man for the spin department.

The pace section was dominated by 3 bowlers in form of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma. Mohammed Siraj was not the part of his squad in spite of performing well in previous test matches.


Ajit Agarkar’s playing 11 for the WTC final:

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

It would be exciting to see which side eventually wins the battle and lifts the World Test Championship trophy.

Share this post:
Exit mobile version