5 Most memorable Tri-Series in Indian Cricket history

Over the years, cricket has witnessed many memorable tri-series played between different countries. However, we don’t see tri-series nowadays because they aren’t profitable for the hosting countries. But that doesn’t mean that we can’t be reminiscent of the past. So today we will take a look at the 5 most memorable tri-series that India has played.

#1. Sharjah Cup (1998)

A three-nation ODI tournament was held in UAE in 1998. Australia, India and New Zealand took part in it. India won the series, losing only to Australia. The Indian team was boosted by an in-form Sachin, who won the Man of the Series award for his phenomenal performances.

This is the same series that bore witness to the legendary Sharjah ‘Desert Storm’. Tendulkar hit a mammoth 143 to ensure India’s entry into the finals. In the finals, Sachin reigned supreme once again, scoring an important 134. Thus with his help, India won the match by 6 wickets.

#2. 2002 NatWest Series

The 2002 NatWest series was played between India, England and Sri Lanka. Each country played each other thrice to later qualify for the finals. India played England in the finals of the tournament. This match is infamous for the iconic celebration by then captain Sourav Ganguly

at the legendary Lord’s Stadium.

Throughout the series, Sachin had performed extremely well, becoming the highest scorer for India at the end of the memorable tri-series. However, he failed to perform in the finals, getting out for a measly 14 runs. Things looked bleak for India, but a historic partnership between Yuvraj Singh and Mohammad Kaif saved India from a certain defeat. India won the match in iconic fashion, sealing the series with 2 wickets to spare.

#3. Nidahas Trophy (2018)

Nidahas Trophy is played to celebrate the independence of Sri Lanka. It’s not a regular fixture in the ICC schedule. Previously it was held in 2018 between India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. This series became famous due to Dinesh Karthik’s exploits in the final of the tournament.

Karthik almost single-handedly won the match for India, belting Rubel Hossain for 22 runs in the 19th over of the final. When he came to bat, India needed 34 runs off 12 balls. By the time Karthik finished his innings, India won the match by 4 wickets. This series will forever be remembered for this iconic knock of his.

#4. 2007–08 Commonwealth Bank Series


The 2007–08 Commonwealth Bank Series consisted of 3 teams- Australia, India and Sri Lanka. India put forth a dominant showing, winning the memorable tri-series 2-0. This is the second instance where Australia lost a home tri-series. The series also marked the end of the careers of Brad Hogg and Adam Gilchrist.

Gautam Gambhir top-scored in the tournament with 440 runs under his belt in the tri-series. Sachin made an important 91 in the second final to push India to a respectable 258/9. In response, Australia managed to score only 249 runs. Praveen Kumar became the ‘Man of the Match’ for his figures of 4/46.

#5. Coca-Cola Triangular Series (1998)

In 1998, India, Bangladesh and Kenya came together to play the Coca-Cola Triangular Series. Kenya and India made it to the finals through a round-robin league format. India lost only one match in the entire tournament.

It was a dominant performance by India in the finals, as Kenya got bundled out for 196 in 46.3 overs. India reached the target comfortably and won by 9 wickets. Sachin Tendulkar scored an easy century and guided India to victory.


Related Articles

Back to top button