7 players who have captained Mumbai Indians in IPL history

Mumbai Indians are touted as the most successful team in the history of IPL. However, they haven’t been the most consistent ones in the league. The first-ever title for Mumbai came in 2013 edition. What’s more interesting to know is that they couldn’t even reach the playoffs for the first two seasons.


Mumbai Indians did not qualify for the playoffs in 2008 and 2009 edition before becoming the runners-up in 2010 IPL. Title drought for a few years, injuries and controversies meant Mumbai had to change their captains frequently until Rohit Sharma took the charge in 2013 and turned the fortunes of the franchise.

In this article, we look at 7 players who have captained Mumbai Indians in IPL history:


1. Sachin Tendulkar

 Ahead of the start of the inaugural edition of IPL, Sachin Tendulkar was named as the captain of Mumbai Indians. However, he couldn’t lead the side in the first half of the tournament due to injury. In 2010, he led the side to reach the finals. In the following year the team managed to reach the top-four.

Hours before the start of 2012 edition of the tournament, Sachin Tendulkar stepped down from the captaincy as Harbhajan Singh was appointed the skipper. The legendary batsman never captained Mumbai thereafter.

2. Harbhajan Singh

Very few people know that it was Harbhajan Singh who led Mumbai Indians in the initial stages of the inaugural edition of IPL. The former Indian spinner was given the captaincy duties because Sachin Tendulkar got injured before the start of 2008 season. Under Harbhajan Singh’s leadership, the team endured a poor run as they lost the first fourth game by huge margins. Harbhajan Singh was later suspended from the tournament after slapping Sreesanth during the match against Kings XI Punjab. He was again appointed as captain of Mumbai Indians in 2012 after Tendulkar decided to step down from the captaincy hours before the start of the season.


3. Shaun Pollock

After Harbhajan Singh got suspended in 2008 IPL for slapping Sreesanth during a league game against Kings XI Punjab, Shaun Pollock was handed over the captaincy duties. Mumbai won six out of six games they played under the stewardship of Pollock before Sachin Tendulkar recovered from injury and took over. Mumbai Indians finished on seventh position that season with 7 wins and as many losses.

4. Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo played the first three seasons of IPL with Mumbai Indians before moving to Chennai Super Kings in 2011. Bravo led Mumbai Indians for one game during his stint in the absence of Tendulkar.

5. Ricky Ponting

Legendary batsman, Ricky Ponting was made the captain of Mumbai Indians in the 2013 edition of IPL, However, due to a poor run with the bat he was dropped from the side, thereby handing over the captaincy duties to Rohit Sharma midway through the season. Ricky Ponting returned back to the side in 2015 as the head coach of the franchise.


6. Rohit Sharma

The arrival of Rohit Sharma turned the fortunes of Mumbai Indians in the cash-rich league. Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai to four IPL titles and made it the most successful franchise in the history of IPL. He took over the captaincy from Ricky Ponting midway through 2013 IPL. Mumbai Indians went onto win that season. His brilliant leadership helped Mumbai win titles every alternative year thereafter.  

7. Kieron Pollard

Kieron Pollard has been a vital cog for Mumbai Indians for many years now. He joined the franchise back in 2010 and is the most capped player for the franchise. In the absence of Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard has taken the responsibility of leading the side. Currently, the West Indian is leading MI in the ongoing edition of IPL 2020 with Rohit Sharma suffering a hamstring injury.


Related Articles

Back to top button