6 Indians Who Won A Match With A Last-Ball Six In IPL History

T20 is a highly volatile format, and if there is even one run to chase off the last bowl of the innings, batsmen tend to take it safe by going for a single. Of course, if the target is high, the batters will have to take that extra risk. In the history of IPL, we have been witness to several instances of players hitting six of the last ball of the innings to win the game for their team. In this article, we take a look at the list of six Indians who have won a match with a last-ball six in IPL history so far.


1) Rohit Sharma (IPL 2009, IPL 2011 and IPL 2012)

Opposition: Kolkata Knight Riders || Venue – Johannesburg || Bowler – M Mortaza

Opposition: Pune Warriors || Venue – Mumbai || Bowler – M Karthik


Opposition: Deccan Chargers || Venue – Visakhapatnam || Bowler – Dan Christian

Rohit Sharma leads this list of six Indians who have won a match with a last-ball six in IPL history. The Mumbai Indians skipper has achieved this feat on three different occasions. Although he is an opener now, Rohit was a quality middle-order batsman back then. Hence, he used to finish games very often. It was then that his six-hitting abilities came of use to the teams that he represented. While he did it for the first time in that iconic knock against KKR in South Africa, in both 2011 and 2012 also, Rohit hit a last-ball six to win a game for his team.

2) Ambati Rayudu (IPL 2011)

Opposition: Kolkata Knight Riders || Venue – Kolkata || Bowler – L Balaji


Back in 2011, Mumbai Indians and KKR were involved in a close game at the Eden Gardens. KKR had made a decent score of 175 and Mumbai was struggling a bit at 137-5. Although it was James Franklin who came to MI’s rescue, Rayudu‘s knock of 17(6)* was also very crucial. He also hit a last-ball six in that game.

3) Saurabh Tiwary (IPL 2012)

Opposition: Pune Warriors || Venue – Bengaluru || Bowler – Ashish Nehra

Saurabh Tiwary struggled when he played for RCB. However, he found the going easier when he faced Pune Warriors in 2012. While he played good knocks in both games against them, the one in Bengaluru was special. He helped RCB chase a tough target of 183 by hitting a huge hit in the last ball of the game.


4) MS Dhoni (IPL 2016)

Opposition: Punjab Kings || Venue – Visakhapatnam || Bowler – Axar Patel

MS Dhoni is also a part of this rare list. Known for finishing games, that too, with a six, MSD once had to chase six runs off the final delivery of the innings. He had already made a fifty and was set at the crease. Axar Patel was a young cricketer then and was bowling the last over. He had already succumbed to the pressure, and he conceded a six off the last ball which worsened the situation for him. Dhoni is also the only player in the history of IPL to chase six runs off the final delivery of the innings.

5) Ravindra Jadeja (IPL 2020)

Opposition: Kolkata Knight Riders || Venue – Dubai || Bowler – Kamlesh Nagarkoti


Ravindra Jadeja is probably the most improved Indian cricketer of recent times. While he was previously known as a bowling all-rounder, Jaddu’s batting contributions have increased in the last few seasons. In IPL 2020, against KKR, the southpaw helped CSK chase a target of 173 with a splendid cameo of 31 runs from just eleven deliveries. It is in this knock that he scored a six in the last ball to close the game.

6) KS Bharat (IPL 2021)

Opposition: Delhi Capitals || Venue – Dubai || Bowler – Avesh Khan

KS Bharat is the latest entrant to this list of Indians who have won a match with a last-ball six in IPL. In the final game of the league stage of IPL 2021, RCB was chasing a stiff target of 165. With bigwigs Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers getting out early, the team was in a bit of trouble. KS Bharat scored an unbeaten 78, which included a last-ball six that helped RCB cross the line.


Nesara V Jagannatha

Books, Movies & Sports! A cricket aficionado...

Related Articles

Back to top button