5 Popular players who retired after winning an ICC tournament

ICC events are considered to be one of the most prestigious tournaments in the world of cricket. Events like T20 World Cup, Champion’s Trophy, ODI World Cup, etc. pit countries over the world against each other. Thus, it’s a great honor to win an ICC trophy. Many players carry this dream till the end of their careers. Some get to fulfil it, while many don’t. Today we will take a look at 5 popular players who achieved their dream of winning an ICC tournament and retired from international cricket.


#1. Imran Khan (1992 ODI World Cup)

Imran Khan‘s career already spanned 21 years when he led Pakistan to a World Cup victory in 1992. Pakistan beat England by 22 runs. Khan’s strategy to promote himself up the order paid dividends as he scored a valuable 72 runs for the team.

Khan retired from international cricket in the same year, playing his last ODI in March 1992. Imran Khan left behind his cricketing legacy to focus on politics. He is now the 22nd and current Prime Minister of Pakistan.


#2. Glenn McGrath (2007 ODI World Cup)

Glenn McGrath is one of the greatest fast bowlers of all time. The legendary bowler troubled the best batsmen in the world in his prime. A part of the legendary Australian team, McGrath played alongside call-time greats like Shane Warne and Bret Lee. He took 894 wickets in his international career and is an iconic figure in cricket today.

McGrath retired after winning the ODI World Cup in 2007 with Australia. His performance in the tournament made him the leading wicket-taker in the history of the World Cup. McGrath also took the most wickets in that tournament. He retired after the 2006-07 Ashes after Australia whitewashed England ‘5-0’.

#3. Michael Clarke (2015 ODI World Cup)

Michael Clarke is one of the greatest batsmen of his generation. He led Australia to their 5th World Cup win in 2015. Clarke scored more than 16000 runs and averaged 46.17 in his international career. Clarke decided to retire after the 2015 Ashes series.


While his batting ability didn’t deteriorate, Clarke suffered from niggling back problems which led to dips in form. England defeated Australia in the 2015 Ashes series ‘3-2’. After this defeat, Clarke announced his retirement from all of international cricket.

#4. Brad Haddin (2015 ODI World Cup)

Brad Haddin is one of Australia’s best wicket-keeper batsmen. Known for his explosive batting, Haddin was also phenomenal behind the stumps. He took mind-blowing catches and saved Australia many times with his batting skills. In his international career, Haddin usually played down the order and acted as a finisher for the team.

Haddin retired after winning the 2015 ODI World Cup alongside fellow veteran and skipper Michael Clarke. Haddin’s Test career had already been shut down by coach Darren Lehmann after he missed the second Test in the 2015 Ashes due to his ill daughter. He then announced his retirement after the 2015 World Cup. Haddin is now the ambassador for his home ground, Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) with Steve Smith.


#5. BJ Watling (2021 World Test Championship)

BJ Watling retired recently after New Zealand won the 2021 World Test Championship final against India. Watling is regarded is one of the best wicket-keeper batsmen of this generation. He also currently holds the record of most dismissals by a wicket-keeper for New Zealand.

Watling announced his intention to retire from his international career after New Zealand’s tour ended. He announced that the final of the World Test Championship would be his final match. New Zealand were able to give him a winning send-off, as they won the WTC final in fitting fashion.



Related Articles

Back to top button