Captains for the landmark Test Matches between India and Australia

The Boxing Day Test match between India and Australia is the 100th Test match between these two teams. These two teams played their first test match against each other way back in 1947 and in the last 73 years, they have played a total of 100 Tests. It has been a great rivalry and there is always high-quality cricket when these two sides are up against each other.

Over the years, there have been some really heated moments between these two teams but all in all it has been a great rivalry for all the viewers. There is no doubt that this is a marquee series, and it is great fun to watch these two teams take on each other. So, let’s have a look at the captains for both the teams in the landmark Test matches between these two teams.

1st Test – Lala Amarnath and Sir Donald Bradman in 1947

As mentioned earlier, the first Test match between these two teams took place way back in 1947 when the Indian team travelled to Australia for a five-match Test series. Lala Amarnath was leading the Indian side whereas the mighty Sir Donald Bradman was the Australian captain.


The first Test took place in Brisbane. It wasn’t a great Test for India as they were bowled out for 58 and 98 in both their innings which meant that Australia won the game by an innings and 226 runs. India lost the series 4-0.

25th Test – MAK Pataudi and Bill Lawry in 1969

The 25th Test match between these two teams took place in 1969. It took almost 22 years from the first Test to play the 25th Test. Australia was touring India for a five-match series when the 25th Match took place. MAK Pataudi was the skipper of the Indian side and Bill Lawry was the Australian captain.

India managed to defeat Australia in one of the games in Delhi, but Australia was too strong for India as they won the series by a margin of 3-1.


50th Test – Mohammad Azharuddin and Allan Border in 1992

The 50th Test match between these two teams took place in 1992 when the Indian team toured Australia for a five-match Test series. It was going to be a difficult task for the Indian team in the Australian conditions.

A 29-year-old Mohammad Azharuddin was leading the Indian side whereas an experienced Allan Border was the Australian skipper. India not only lost the 50th Test by a huge margin but also the series by a big margin of 4-0. India couldn’t win a single game in the five-match Test series.

75th Test – Anil Kumble and Ricky Ponting in 2008

The 75th Test match between these two teams was 12 years ago in 2008 in India. After winning the series, 3-1 in Australia in early 2008, Australia travelled to India for a four-match Test series. Anil Kumble who led the Indian team for a short period was the Indian captain and Ricky Ponting was leading the Australian side.


The first Test of the series ended in a draw and India won the second Test. The third Test which was held at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi was the 75th Test between these two teams which ended in a draw. India won the last Test and the series.

100th Test – Ajinkya Rahane and Tim Paine in 2020

If anybody had told you 3-4 years ago, that Ajinkya Rahane and Tim Paine will lead their countries in the 100th Test match between these two teams then you wouldn’t have believed that. The circumstances were such that Tim Paine got the leadership and Ajinkya Rahane is leading in the absence of Virat Kohli.

The 100th Test match which also turns out to be the Boxing Day Test match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground has been a fantastic Test match. The series is getting intense, and it will be interesting to see how the series pans out. There will be a lot more tests between these two teams and nobody knows who will be leading their teams in the future landmark Tests.


Shubham K

I am currently studying Computer Engineering at SVNIT Surat. I am a big cricket fan and like writing about Cricket.

Related Articles

Back to top button