CricketIPL 2022News

A Twitter User Posted A Photo Of How Wankhede Stadium Scorecard Showed MS Dhoni As A Mumbai Indians Player

The 59th match of the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League is in the history books, with defending champions Chennai Super Kings becoming the second franchise to be eliminated from the race to the playoffs. CSK suffered a crushing defeat at the hands of the five-time champions Mumbai Indians as MS Dhoni and his team now have no chance of qualifying for the IPL 2022 playoffs.


Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma called the coin toss right and decided to have a bowl first at the Wankhede Stadium. Daniel Sams, Jasprit Bumrah and Riley Meredith wreaked havoc against the Chennai Super Kings as they reduced the Yellow Army to 39/6. MS Dhoni made sure that Mumbai Indians received a 98-run target as he remained not out till the end and scored 36 runs for his team.

Chasing 98 runs to win, Mumbai Indians lost four early wickets. However, the trio of Tim David, Hrithik Shokeen and Tilak Verma took MI out of troubles and guided the franchise home with 5.1 overs to spare.


A Twitter user pointed out that there was some error on the digital scoreboard at the Wankhede Stadium as the organizers put MS Dhoni’s name on display when Tim David came out to bat for the Mumbai Indians.

I don’t think that’s enough irrespective of how the wicket is: MS Dhoni comments on defending 97 runs against Mumbai Indians

Speaking with the host broadcasters after his team lost the match, Dhoni said that the 97-run total was never going to be enough. Here’s what he had to say:


“I don’t think that’s enough irrespective of how the wicket is. Anything below 130 is difficult to defend but what I asked the bowlers to do was show a lot of character, put the opposition under pressure and forget about the result. I thought both the fast-bowlers did really well. I think a game like this really helps them.”


Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button