6 Players Who Left Delhi Capitals And Then Captained Another IPL Team

Delhi Capitals are one of the few franchises that have been a part of every season played in the Indian Premier League history. However, DC has never been able to win the IPL title. They came close to winning the trophy in 2020. But after losing to Mumbai Indians in the final, Delhi Capitals had to take the IPL runners-up cheque home.

Some of the biggest names in world cricket have represented the Delhi-based franchise in the tournament’s history. Quite a few players left DC and then achieved success while playing for other franchises. Here’s a list of six players who first played for Delhi Capitals in IPL and then captained another team.

1. David Warner – Left Delhi Capitals and captained SRH in IPL

Australian opener David Warner played for Delhi until 2013. He then moved to Sunrisers Hyderabad and was very successful as their captain.


2. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was the first captain of the Delhi franchise. He subsequently joined Punjab Kings and captained them in the absence of George Bailey.

3. Glenn Maxwell – Left Delhi Capitals and captained PBKS in IPL

Another player who left DC and captained Punjab was Glenn Maxwell. He had two stints with both franchises in the IPL.

4. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir captained Delhi in a few matches before joining Kolkata Knight Riders. He won two trophies with KKR and came back to captain Delhi in 2018. Gambhir then handed over the reins of the team to Shreyas Iyer.


5. Dinesh Karthik

Wicket-keeper batter Dinesh Karthik had two stints with Delhi. In 2018, he joined the Kolkata Knight Riders and captained the franchise in two and a half seasons.

6. Sanju Samson – Left Capitals and captained RR in IPL

When RR received a temporary suspension from IPL, Sanju Samson joined Delhi and played two seasons for them. He returned to RR in 2018 and became their captain in 2021.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button