5 Things that never changed in IPL since 2008

The Indian Premier League (IPL) was initiated in the year 2008 after the Indian cricket team lifted the inaugural T20 World Cup 2007 in South Africa. BCCI saw the potential in this format. They introduced eight city-based franchises. Next, they invited the best players in the world to play here. In the last 13 years, IPL has become one of the biggest brands globally.

IPL has changed a lot in the last 13 years. Earlier, there used to be semifinal matches between Top 4 teams. Right now, there are playoff matches between the Top 4 sides. However, there are few things that have not changed since 2008. Here’s a look at five such things.

5. Only one uncapped Orange Cap winner

Orange Cap is the prize awarded to the batsman with the most runs in an IPL season. Legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar and Matthew Hayden feature on the list of Orange Cap winners. However, the first person to win this award was Shaun Marsh. The Australian batsman was not so well-known in 2008. He had never played a match for Australia.


Still, the Punjab Kings backed him. They roped him in before the inaugural season. Marsh surpassed the expectations by playing with supreme consistency that year. He won the Orange Cap and stayed with Punjab until 2017. In 2008 also, there was one uncapped IPL Orange Cap winner, and in 2021 also, there is only one to have done it. No other uncapped star has achieved this feat except Marsh.

4. Only one centurion for KKR

The Kolkata Knight Riders are among the most successful IPL franchises on the all-time list. They have two IPL titles to their name. Only two teams have more championships than KKR. However, the Knight Riders have fallen short in one aspect. That is the number of centurions in IPL.

As every IPL fan would know Brendon McCullum scored a hundred for KKR in 2008. It was the very first match of the IPL. However, since then, no other KKR batsman has accomplished this feat. Great players like Sourav Ganguly, Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis, and several others have represented. However, the number of KKR centurions is 1 since IPL 2008.


3. Mumbai Indians owner

The ownership of many teams has changed in IPL. Some franchises have even exited the IPL. However, the ownership of the Mumbai Indians has never changed. Mukesh Ambani bought the franchise in 2008. He has been the team’s owner since then.

The Mumbai-based franchise could not win a single title until 2012. However, in the last eight seasons, they have taken five trophies home. Rohit Sharma has played a huge role in MI’s success. He has live up to the team owners’ expectations. Also, he has a bunch of match-winners in his MI squad.

2. MS Dhoni has been CSK’s captain since IPL 2008

Chennai Super Kings have won three IPL titles in the last 13 years. All have come under MS Dhoni’s captaincy. The franchises entrusted Dhoni with the leadership responsibilities in the first season itself. He was the most expensive player then. Since then, Dhoni has never been a part of the auction.


When CSK got suspended, Dhoni became a part of a draft. Rising Pune Supergiant signed him in 2016. They even elected him as their captain. However, they sacked him in 2017. Nevertheless, whenever CSK has played with MS Dhoni in the playing XI, Thala has only been the captain since 2008.

1. Virat Kohli has been with RCB since IPL 2008

Current Indian captain Virat Kohli was the U-19 team’s captain when the IPL began. Virat was a part of the U-19. Delhi Daredevils did not sign him. They preferred fast bowler Pradeep Sangwan. Royal Challengers Bangalore signed Kohli in the second round.

That proved to be a great decision for RCB. Kohli is the most-followed Asian on Instagram right now. His brand value is sky-high. Also, he is the only one to score 973 runs in one IPL season. Thus, RCB have never thought of releasing Kohli since 2008.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button