3 Teams that are yet to win Fair play award in IPL history

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the number one T20 league on earth right now, both in terms of the level of competition and the amount of money involved in the tournament. No T20 league comes close to the IPL. Winning the IPL is a matter of pride for every cricketer, but there is one more prize in the IPL that every player and franchise aim to win. It is the IPL Fair play Award.

The Award is given to a team that earns the most points through a system where the umpires rate the on-field behaviour and the other behavioural aspects of the team. The Chennai Super Kings were the first team to win this award in 2008. So far, the Chennai-based franchise have won the prize six times. Even Gujarat Lions, who were a part of the IPL for only two seasons, won the title once. But there have been three franchises who are yet to win the Fair Play award. Here is a list of those three teams:

1. Delhi Capitals never won the Fair Play award

Delhi Capitals, formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, joined the IPL in 2008. They reached the IPL 2020 Final but failed to win the championship. They even qualified for the Champions League T20 when the tournament was active, but they failed to capture the trophy there as well. Another title that has been away from the Delhi-based franchise is the Fair Play award.


2. Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore are another IPL franchise that qualified for IPL Final and also Champions League T20, but never won the trophy. The Bangalore-based franchise made it to the summit clash of IPL in 2009, 2011 and 2016 and lost all three. They have also never been able to win the IPL Fair Play award.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders

Unlike Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore, the Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL championship. In fact, the Kolkata-based franchise has won it twice. However, they are yet to top the Fair Play Award standings. At the moment, Punjab Kings are leading the IPL 2021 Fair Play table. DC are 3rd, KKR are 6th, while RCB are 8th.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button