CricketFeatureIPL 2022

3 Players KKR Might Retain Despite Their Poor Performance In IPL 2022

Kolkata Knight Riders finished runners-up in IPL 2021, but they could not qualify for the playoffs this year. The Kolkata-based franchise made some major changes to the squad ahead of IPL 2022. They signed Shreyas Iyer and named him their new captain, but KKR could not get going this year.

One can blame the injuries for the downfall of the Kolkata Knight Riders, but they should also admit that some of the top players of the team were not in their best form. Nevertheless, KKR will look to bounce back in IPL 2023, and they may even retain the following three names from their current squad despite a poor showing from them.

1. KKR may retain Venkatesh Iyer for IPL 2023

Venkatesh Iyer was one of the finds of the IPL 2021 season. He warmed the benches during the first half of the tournament but changed Kolkata Knight Riders’ fortunes during the second phase with his excellent batting and bowling performances. Iyer even broke into the Indian team, but his role was a little unclear.


Even at KKR this year, Iyer’s role was unclear as he batted at different positions and did not bowl much. He managed only 182 runs in 12 innings at an average of 16.54 with zero wickets to his name. Given how Iyer performed in IPL 2021, Kolkata may give him one more chance.

2. KKR may retain Varun CV

Varun CV scalped six wickets in 11 matches of IPL 2022 at an economy rate of more than eight. He was even dropped from the playing XI. However, it is unlikely that Kolkata will release him next year.

3. Shivam Mavi

Kolkata signed Shivam Mavi for 7.25 crore, but the pace bowler went for 10.31 runs per over in the six matches he played. He did pick up five wickets, but Mavi could not produce match-winning performances for them. Still, KKR may back him because he has got the talent to perform at the top level.



Vinay Chhabria is a cricket and WWE enthusiast who supports Roman Reigns and Gujarat Titans. He has been following cricket for the last 15 years and WWE since 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button